17 Reviews

Barbara, this is a great recipe! We really enjoyed the down-home flavor, and it wasn't time consuming to make. I did tweak it alittle :) I used 1/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup lite sour cream. I also threw in some dried onions, because I was lazy and didn't want to chopped fresh ones. Thanks again for a keeper-Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando July 22, 2003

Whoops! I forgot the rating.....sorry!!!! Without a doubt a 5 star!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
parkerjunkmail January 19, 2011

This was okay. I was trying to come up with something bland after the household had been sick - and this fit the bill. It was bland and boring. Not bad, but I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beccatheny March 21, 2010

I doubled this and made it with fat free mayo. I used green beans instead of peas and topped it with some mozzarella. A good hearty and easy weeknight dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit November 08, 2009

The family devoured this. I need to double it next time for a crew of five that includes two teens. I thinned the mayo mixture with a little chicken stock, to make the casserole slightly moister. I also sprinkled it all with shredded mozarella cheese as it finished baking. It tasted so delicious, there isn't a speck left in the dish. This is a winner!! UPDATE: This is also terrific with toasted nuts in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vrvrvr July 10, 2009

Yummy!! This dish was delicious! I switched the peas for frozen chopped broccoli and I made it last minute so I had to use red beans and rice instead of brown rice... soooo good though! Oh yeah, and I added a little bit of Jamaican Me Hot Sauce for a little pizazz. fantastic all the way around! Definate Keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearlyGirl July 07, 2009

Yummo! Loved that it used brown rice and peas (2 of our favorites lately). I made it exactly as posted except I added a couple of splashes of hot sauce to the dish cuz we like things spicy. Going in the keeper file. Thank you very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty March 04, 2009

I made this tonight for dinner and it was a hit. I added chopped onions and frozen chopped spinach (fried them in coconut oil first) and then added some dill and basil to the mayo mixture to add a bit more flavour. It was a hit! 5 out of the 5 kids devoured it and I made up another one for lunch tomorrow. I doubled the recipe as there was 7 of us eating it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinkalicious! January 13, 2009

This was good and easy to make, even my hubby who normally doesn't care for rice, liked it. I followed the recipe as written other then I used canned peas instead of frozen as I am not a fan of frozen veggies. I also made this for freezer tag. I made the dish as written but instead of cooking, I combined everything in a freezer bag and froze. The day I was ready to cook, I pulled and thawed in the fridge and then cooked as written. I didn't care for it as much made this way because it dried out but I did not base my rating on the recipe being frozen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 02, 2008
Brown Rice and Chicken