Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 22, 2003

      Barbara, this is a great recipe! We really enjoyed the down-home flavor, and it wasn't time consuming to make. I did tweak it alittle :) I used 1/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup lite sour cream. I also threw in some dried onions, because I was lazy and didn't want to chopped fresh ones. Thanks again for a keeper-Carole in Orlando

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

    • on January 19, 2011

      Whoops! I forgot the rating.....sorry!!!! Without a doubt a 5 star!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      This was okay. I was trying to come up with something bland after the household had been sick - and this fit the bill. It was bland and boring. Not bad, but I won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I doubled this and made it with fat free mayo. I used green beans instead of peas and topped it with some mozzarella. A good hearty and easy weeknight dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      The family devoured this. I need to double it next time for a crew of five that includes two teens. I thinned the mayo mixture with a little chicken stock, to make the casserole slightly moister. I also sprinkled it all with shredded mozarella cheese as it finished baking. It tasted so delicious, there isn't a speck left in the dish. This is a winner!! UPDATE: This is also terrific with toasted nuts in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Yummy!! This dish was delicious! I switched the peas for frozen chopped broccoli and I made it last minute so I had to use red beans and rice instead of brown rice... soooo good though! Oh yeah, and I added a little bit of Jamaican Me Hot Sauce for a little pizazz. fantastic all the way around! Definate Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      Yummo! Loved that it used brown rice and peas (2 of our favorites lately). I made it exactly as posted except I added a couple of splashes of hot sauce to the dish cuz we like things spicy. Going in the keeper file. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      I made this tonight for dinner and it was a hit. I added chopped onions and frozen chopped spinach (fried them in coconut oil first) and then added some dill and basil to the mayo mixture to add a bit more flavour. It was a hit! 5 out of the 5 kids devoured it and I made up another one for lunch tomorrow. I doubled the recipe as there was 7 of us eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      This was good and easy to make, even my hubby who normally doesn't care for rice, liked it. I followed the recipe as written other then I used canned peas instead of frozen as I am not a fan of frozen veggies. I also made this for freezer tag. I made the dish as written but instead of cooking, I combined everything in a freezer bag and froze. The day I was ready to cook, I pulled and thawed in the fridge and then cooked as written. I didn't care for it as much made this way because it dried out but I did not base my rating on the recipe being frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      I made some substitutions - FF mayo, less peas, and a can of water cresants. It was pretty good but the brown rice was a little well tasted too much like brown rice lol If this recipe was white rice I probably would have given it 5 stars. It frooze really well too

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I really liked this recipe! It was so easy to put together and it's a great flavor. It also freezes very well. I froze it in individual size portions and had it for lunch for a long time! I should also mention that I used frozen peas and carrots because that is what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I love this rice dish. It is very difficult to make brown rice taste good. I can make this ahead of time and reheat it in 10 minutes. I chop fresh onion and garlic, zuccini and carrots...gives it a sweet taste and then the kids can't pick out the vegetables. I've also made it with beef strips, samon and black beans. Chicken is the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Had EGGSzactly 3 cups of cooked brown rice, and bought a small rotisserie chicken, made the rest according to recipe. It WAS quick and easy, wish I had remebered the water chestnuts from another reviewer, but probably won't do again. Not quite to our taste. Thanks for the idea, Aroostook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      This recipe is great, in that it's easy, quick, and consists entirely of staples I tend to always keep in the house. I was nervous at first about the mayonnaise, but I used it as written and it turned out well (although I used fat-free mayo as a substitute).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      This was so easy! I had some chicken I had cooked over the weekend. I knew the first part of the week was going to be busy, and this dish was perfect. Not alot of time spent making it, but a great time enjoying it! The only thing I did different was serve the rice on the side and used frozen stir-fry vegies, instead of peas. Thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2005

      Had this for dinntr tonight. Very Good. The only change I made was to add 1 can sliced water chestnuts. Still have enough to reheat for tomorrow night. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.9
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    33%
    Total Fat 12.1 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 36.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 364.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites