Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Rice and Carrot Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Rice and Carrot Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2007

      I'm always interested in recipes using brown rice and on the day I needed to make something other than just the rice instead of the usual potatoes, I looked this up. I am so glad to have found this!By way of this recipe and not having all the ingredients on hand, the result was a keeper. I only had chicken broth, no vegetable stock. The can of broth amounted to 2 cups so I needed another half cup of liquid. To try and keep in tune with the recipe, I added a half cup of water with a couple of teaspoons of Knorr Vegetable Soup mix in it. Also had no parsley or bean sprouts but added frozen petite peas instead. Followed cooking directions up to # 6 because I put the peas in at the same time as the stock. The rice absorbed all the flavors, and the vegetables were tender and tasty as well. Thanks, Tebo for a wonderful base recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      This was excellant, added alot of flavour to rice, changing my famillies idea about rice. I love finding new ways to make the stuff, especially recipes with brown rice. Also a great use of carrots. I've also made this with white rice and just adjusted the time (more like 10-15 minutes, and the amount of liquid, twice the measure of rice. I also added some rosemary, delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2014

      Found, and made, this recipe tonight. I added garlic while frying the carrot and onion, as well as a 1/4 cup of cooked peas after the dish was finished cooking. Also, I like my brown rice a little more el dante, so only used 1 1/2 cups of water and boiled it all down for about 48 minutes, then let it sit for 5. It was delish!! This will be one of my new staples. ps instead of parsley (which I never buy), sprinkling a bit of chopped green onion before serving works just as well. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      I love this recipe. I don't add the bean sprouts. But the smell of carrots and onions cooking in butter remind me of Morocco. So I add cinnamon and cumin.
      Thanks for posting it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      This is a perfect recipe because it's so easy to substitute. I used beef stock and red bell pepper, along with some garlic powder and stirred in some pine nuts along with the parsley. Turned out great! I will be making this often. Thanks for sharing this recipe Tebo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2011

      A nice way to use brown rice. I did have to boil it with the lid off for the last 5-10 minutes to get the liquid absorbed. I used chicken broth and added 1/2 tsp of dried thyme since I love the combo of thyme and carrots together. my toddler gobbled it up! Will use 2 cups of liquid next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2010

    • on October 03, 2010

      Whenever I have a little extra time, I make this instead of plain brown rice. I experiment with the added veggies - sometimes I'll throw in onion and celery, other times just the carrot. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I added a red pepper along with the other vegetables and used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock. I also had too much liquid at the end of the cooking time so I followed another reviewer's guide to put this in the microwave to dry it out some. Will use a little less liquid next time. Very good, healthy recipe. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      Very tasty recipe. I had too much liquid left after one hour of simmering however. I finished it in the microwave for 8 minutes. I could have had it on to slow of a simmer. The taste is worth trying it again with maybe a fourth cup less liquid. I used chicken stock since it was all I had but otherwise followed the recipe for 3 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      This was very, very good! I only used half of a large onion and chopped baby carrots instead of grated carrots. It is a excellent side dish and easy to prepare. Next time I'll add some peas. I omitted the bean sprouts because I don't like them. This will go in my cookbook for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I wasn't a big fan of this recipe. My husband used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock, which may have ruined it. It was way to salty. We will not be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      very nice recipe to built variations on, and so healthy too. i used olive oil instead of butter and cilantro for parsley, and low-sodium veg broth. since i made this as a side dish for an indian meal, i also used some mustard seeds when i was sauteeing the onion. i think this lent it more flavor. next time i might use cumin seeds for a variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      I expected this to have a little more flavor. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. It was good, but next time I may add more seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This is really delicious! I didn't have the bean sprouts or the parsley, but it was still good. I did use chicken broth instead of vegetable broth because that was what I had on hand. Mine took about 55 minutes to get done. It seemed a bit too sweet and perhaps that was from not having the parsley and bean sprouts to go with it. It was very good, very easy and I will make it again! Tebo, thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      We really enjoyed this. I only had 1 can of broth (14 oz.) so added 6 oz of water. I added 1 minced clove of garlic along with the other vegetables. I did not use the beans sprouts, but since I served this with roast turkey I added 1/4 of dried cranberries. It looked and tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      The carrots really blended well with the brown rice, and this came out very flavorful. I followed Heather U.'s advice and only used about 1 Tbsp of olive oil rather than the 3 Tbsp of butter. I also used Cauliflower Broth for the vegetable stock, and served the cauliflower as another side. This is a nice way to do brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I made this when we had guests, and it made a very moist, very tasty side dish for 8 people, plus a smidgen leftover for lunch the next day. Thanks for the wonderful pilaf recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This was just OK for me. My boys seemed to like it, but I thought it had an odd taste. Maybe it would have tasted a bit better if I would have used Chicken stock rather than vegetable stock. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Hubby loved this. It was very good. Changes I made was to use olive oil instead of butter, chix broth instead of vege broth and I added minced garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Rice and Carrot Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    32%
    Total Fat 6.7 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 71.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites