27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm always interested in recipes using brown rice and on the day I needed to make something other than just the rice instead of the usual potatoes, I looked this up. I am so glad to have found this!By way of this recipe and not having all the ingredients on hand, the result was a keeper. I only had chicken broth, no vegetable stock. The can of broth amounted to 2 cups so I needed another half cup of liquid. To try and keep in tune with the recipe, I added a half cup of water with a couple of teaspoons of Knorr Vegetable Soup mix in it. Also had no parsley or bean sprouts but added frozen petite peas instead. Followed cooking directions up to # 6 because I put the peas in at the same time as the stock. The rice absorbed all the flavors, and the vegetables were tender and tasty as well. Thanks, Tebo for a wonderful base recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jan... November 14, 2007

This was excellant, added alot of flavour to rice, changing my famillies idea about rice. I love finding new ways to make the stuff, especially recipes with brown rice. Also a great use of carrots. I've also made this with white rice and just adjusted the time (more like 10-15 minutes, and the amount of liquid, twice the measure of rice. I also added some rosemary, delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garden Girl April 30, 2007

Horrible. Maybe it would have worked with olive oil, but it tasted awful cooked on butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous April 15, 2015

Found, and made, this recipe tonight. I added garlic while frying the carrot and onion, as well as a 1/4 cup of cooked peas after the dish was finished cooking. Also, I like my brown rice a little more el dante, so only used 1 1/2 cups of water and boiled it all down for about 48 minutes, then let it sit for 5. It was delish!! This will be one of my new staples. ps instead of parsley (which I never buy), sprinkling a bit of chopped green onion before serving works just as well. Thanks for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef JamTay March 22, 2014

I love this recipe. I don't add the bean sprouts. But the smell of carrots and onions cooking in butter remind me of Morocco. So I add cinnamon and cumin.
Thanks for posting it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SitsNKnits June 29, 2012

This is a perfect recipe because it's so easy to substitute. I used beef stock and red bell pepper, along with some garlic powder and stirred in some pine nuts along with the parsley. Turned out great! I will be making this often. Thanks for sharing this recipe Tebo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Davethedog December 22, 2011

A nice way to use brown rice. I did have to boil it with the lid off for the last 5-10 minutes to get the liquid absorbed. I used chicken broth and added 1/2 tsp of dried thyme since I love the combo of thyme and carrots together. my toddler gobbled it up! Will use 2 cups of liquid next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u August 26, 2011

Whenever I have a little extra time, I make this instead of plain brown rice. I experiment with the added veggies - sometimes I'll throw in onion and celery, other times just the carrot. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
what's for supper? October 03, 2010

I added a red pepper along with the other vegetables and used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock. I also had too much liquid at the end of the cooking time so I followed another reviewer's guide to put this in the microwave to dry it out some. Will use a little less liquid next time. Very good, healthy recipe. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Groundhog Gal May 09, 2010
Brown Rice and Carrot Pilaf