11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good bread, but the recipe is confusing! I'm still waiting to hear about the amount of flour that is correct. I played it by ear and it came out great, anyway. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie R. March 17, 2003

This is one of the most delicious breads I have ever eaten..And so easy to make..Thank you Elizabeth Fox...Art

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Art Messier December 02, 2002

What an excellent soad bread recipe! Made it for Patrick's Day and it was a hit! Great with honey or tomato jam. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsfabicons March 24, 2011

Perfect brown bread! Tastes just like the real deal. I made mine with kitchen-made buttermilk, and I used all but 1 cup white whole wheat flour (King Arthur makes one). The dough is really shaggy and sticks to everything before you add that final 1/4 cup of flour - and even then it's still pretty wet. The only other thing I did different was cook it for an extra 5-10 minutes until the internal temperature reached 195 or so. After 32 minutes the temperature was only at around 135. Beautiful bread - thanks BothFex!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea July 05, 2009

This was so good; just like the Irish pub serves in my town. I split the ingredients in half and made just one loaf. It took a minute to convince my husband that I made the bread and didn't buy it at the store!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afaaborg March 17, 2008

I just made this for St. Patricks day! It was delicious. I used oat flour in place of the wheat flour because that was all I had. My 3 year old niece said it tasted like a bowl of oatmeal. Great toasted the next day with jam!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrid March 20, 2006

A very good dense, whole grain bread and easy to make. I will bake it often. Much better than those wimpy soft loaves in the store.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Anne January 27, 2006

This was REALLY tasty, and held together nicely when dipped in chicken soup :>. The dough seemed a bit too moist when I formed the loaf, but 35 minutes in the oven was perfect! I will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian January 19, 2006

okay, I'm going to try this again before rating. Came out REALLY heavy and dense, and a little doughy... next time I will cut back on the salt, try real buttermilk (I used sour milk), and bake longer. (And I didn't over-knead it, I promise!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doolittle May 16, 2005

A great hearty bread with tons of flavor. We could hardly wait for it to cool before diving in! We made this bread to go with Corned Beef and Cabbage in Guinness #86868. Happy St. Patty's Day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane B. March 18, 2005
Brown Oatmeal Soda Bread