Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Irish Soda Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Irish Soda Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2012

      This is a nicely textured, simple bread that goes well with soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I can’t believe how easy this was to make - I was all out of whole wheat flour, so had to use all white. I did add 1 tablespoon of caraway seeds. I was expecting it to make a bit bigger loaf - but turned out to be plenty for a corned beef and cabbage dinner for 3 and have some left over for toasting at breakfast this morning - can’t wait to make it using the wheat flour. Thank you mrose75 for a quick and easy good tasting bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

    • on March 17, 2009

      I made this in honor of St. Patrick's Day 2009. This recipe is so simple and quick. It went perfectly with the Irish Stew#183782 that I made. My husband just crumbled the bread up into the stew and he said it was wonderful! This bread looks and tastes exactly like the Irish soda bread we had when we went to Ireland in 2003 and 2005. Thank you! It brought back many wonderful memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I made this again and used out flour instead of white. oh, my kids eat the whole loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This bread went really well with the Irish stew I made last night; it was almost like a giant wheat biscuit. Instead of eggwash on the dough, I brushed the dough with oil for a soft and crumbly crust, which worked great for getting the last of the stew out of the dish. Goes together very easily and has a soft dense texture - I loved the fact it uses whole wheat flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Quick and easy and delicious. My biscuit-loving hubby loved it. It was very fine-grained and light. A great way to put more whole grains on the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      I made this instead of my usual Raisin Soda Bread for St.Patrick's Day. We thought it was very good. Thanks mrose78. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      YUM! and definetly easy to make. I ended up making two of these in no time at all! The taste of the bread is nice and has a denseness to it which is great! A slice with butter is a perfect addition to any dinner! The only difference I did was used powdered buttermilk I found in the bakery aisle in the grocery store. Just add water and it is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      SO EASY! I had to use all white flour due to a wheat allergy and it turned out great! We ate it with our corned beef, but I will maybe heat it up again and put butter and honey on it to go with my tea! Great big biscuit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      This bread was so easy to make. Like the other reviewer said, it tastes kind of like a big biscuit. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Delicious! Like a giant buttermilk biscuit. Was especially good with a swath of butter while it was still warm! Very easy to make. Plan on having it again, with some homemade soup later this winter! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Irish Soda Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 86.7
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    32%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 29.4 mg
    9%
    Sodium 138.6 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites