Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Gravy Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Gravy Mix

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 09, 2012

      The instant coffee gives it the dark rich color that we are so accustomed to seeing with brown gravy. You can't taste it. This stuff is GREAT! I will never buy packaged gravy again. Passing it on... =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This makes a delicious gravy and as an added bonus it is a great money saver for the frugal cooks out there. I used this for Stuffed Flank Steak in Crock Pot and it was sooooo good. Thx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      I made a one serving batch of this gravy mix to use with Quick Cube Steaks. I omitted the coffee. This worked very well and the family loved the gravy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      This was perfect! I cut it down to 2 servings to use over my quick Shepherd's Pie and it was so yummy! Thanks so much...much more economical than the packets (and NO MSG!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Great gravy--tasted like the packaged gravy to me, and so much cheaper, with ingredients that I had in the kitchen. I served it for Thanksgiving and it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      I was looking for a good gravy mix and came across this. I did not have coffee crystals in the house so I left them out. My kids loved this easy to make gravy. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I love the fact that this recipe uses low-sodium beef bouillon. I halved the recipe. I used granulated instead of the cubes and add 1 tsp of cocoa powder. Great gravy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I made this gravy mix last night, and served the first batch with a leftover pork roast that needed the gravy. It was really good, and makes lots of the mix to keep in the cupboard. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This gravy was delicious, way better and cheaper than the packets you get at the supermarket.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      This gravy has an awesome flavor and its great that I can make it up in advance and its there when I need it in a pinch. This has become the only brown gravy recipe we use aside from an herb gravy that I use for certain recipes. Thanks for making my life easier by posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      It's nice to have a container of this in the pantry instead of having to keep track of those little pouches from the store. This mixes together very easily, and is sitting in the pantry waiting until we nee some gravy. I'll add to my review when we use the mix to make some gravy. Made for Fall 08 PRMR.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      perfecto! thanks so much for posting. Saves money. i used chicken instead of beef as it is what i had, and its still great. Nice to have an easy fix right in the cupboard!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      This recipe is a life saver! Snow storm last night kind of trapped me in for a couple of days and I needed a gravy to go with some left over beef. I like the lower sodium, store bought is just too salty. It's quick and easy and now sitting on the pantry shelf. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Great recipe! Thank you for posting this - I've used this for many recipies calling for "brown gravy mix" and don't have to run out and buy more expensive packets each time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2006

      Tastes just like the stuff in the pouch. I used bouillon granuals instead of cubes, and it didn't seem to make a difference (except I didn't have to crush and measure cubes!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I was also one of those people who didn't have instant coffee on hand. So I added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce during cooking for a darker color and it turned out great. My better half loved it so much he has asked I make it every time I make mashed potatoes. I will never buy packaged gravy again. It is so convenient to have waiting in my cabinets. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2013

      This is a keeper for our family. I needed a gravy for salisbury steak. The only thing I did different was add a little more water, it was just a little too thick for us. But I no longer will be buying can/jar brown gravy!! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      I don't know why, but this just didn't work for us at all. It was like using plain cornstarch. No beef flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Great mix that I used in http://www.food.com/recipe/beef-tips-17990. I made enough for one packet and was very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Gravy Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.7
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    47%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    low-sodium beef bouillon cubes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites