Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brown Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brown Bread

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 03, 2003

      I halved the recipe and used my bread machime for the dough, excellent soft and fluffy, tastes is great also, I got I loaf and 9 rolls. Thanks for a great easy recipe!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      These are the best dark rolls I have ever had! Such a simple recipe and such great flavor. Thanks for posting, SA jr! =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

    • on May 30, 2008

      I have been looking for a recipe like this for so long! It was wonderful. I only made one loaf and didnt have time to cook it for the whole 40-45 min (more like 30) but it was still delicious. Next time I make it I will cook it the whole time because mine was a little too dense/moist. Also, I used rapid rise yeast, so I combined all the dry and then all the wet but it still turned out great. Next time I'll make all three loaves. Thanks!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I wasn't sure how these would be received by my family, since we usually have white bread, but I'm branching out. Wow! Once I got DD to see past the color, she said they were great, and ate more bread than soup. :) I made one loaf and 12 rolls, and they came out super soft and tasty. I was worried that the dough smelled too "molassas-y", but once it baked, it was just right. I also used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 AP, and it was perfect. Thanks for helping me expand my bread-making horizons!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Great taste and texture and made three large high loaves that were gobbled up in no time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

    • on October 30, 2006

      Very good bread, I enjoyed it most warm slathered in butter... ;). Actually I managed to cut the recipe to make just 1 loaf without too much of a problem. I did miscalculate the salt, used too little but will do better next time. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This recipe is easy and gives an excellent bread. The only change I made was to use instant yeast and added it to the flour. It will be a favorite recipe with our family. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      Wow this bread is wonderful, it rises great and tastes wonderful warm! I did not even have to let it rise the usual 90 minutes after 60 it had doubled. After a rough start I got the hang of this and it was simple, the dough is a sticky dough so keep your hands floured. Next time I will be making this with my kitchenaid mixer. I got three huge loaves of bread and this will be a family favorite. Thanks for sharing and helping me with this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Definitely a five star bread recipe! So yummy and moist! I have to confess that I started making this a discovered that I only had 1/2 cup of molasses, so I threw in about 1/3 cup of honey. I also added a cup of oat bran, just for a little more fiber. I made two loaves and 14 rolls and I can tell I'm going to have to make more soon because they seem to be disappearing! Thanks Smokie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      very very good, and excellent instructions too. I made mine with brown bread flour, and it was excellent. next time I will try and make the bread rolls and 2 loaves, just to ring the changes. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2004

      What a yummie batch of bread this made! And, so easy to mix up and bake. I made loaves and rolls, so I posted a picture for your recipe page, Smokie! Thanks for sharing this 5* winner ... Tis wunnerful!! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brown Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 96.8
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    21%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 221.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes