13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Nice rolls, easy to make and pretty fast for yeast rolls. Made for nice sandwich rolls with a crusty outside and soft inside and held it's shape well with sandwich fixings. Wish I'd read another reviewers comment about slatching before baking for appearance sake, but the taste was right on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 March 11, 2013

If you make a slice across the top of the rolls right before you bake them, they'll look more like the ones in germany

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joshman8 September 30, 2012

This is my third time making brotchen and this recipe is perfect! I followed it exactly as written. My husband used to go to Germany quite a bit and always talked about how good the rolls are there. He said these are it! Thank you for sharing and God bless!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2TSMOM September 09, 2012

The German exchange student and I made these at my folks place. AMAZING! He said, "We can all die now because it doesn't get any better than this."
Def, AMAZING ROLLS. Easy directions to follow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Girl December 05, 2010

I used this recipe in my bread machine on the 'dough only' cycle, starting with 2 1/2 cups of flour and adding a little more at a time until the dough left the sides of the pan. My husband can't get enough of them and said I've spoiled him for any other brotchen! Add the liquid ingredients first, then the oil, sugar, and salt. Next, evenly distribute 2 1/2 c of Bread flour, and make a shallow ditch (or well) in the center and add 'Yeast for bread machines'. *** When the dough has finished the 'rise' cycle, pour it out onto a floured board and punch down by folding. Then divide into 8 sections (for larger rolls) and shape into balls. Cover and let rise until doubled (45 minutes to an hour) and while the oven is heating up to 425 degrees, brush on a mixture of eggwhite and 1 tbsp of water. Put in preheated oven and set timer for 5 minutes. Mist with cold water. Set it for another 5 minutes and mist again. Bake for another 12 to 15 minutes, until light brown. Remove from oven and let cool. They will be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lauriezp123 February 26, 2010

I'm currently making these for the second time! The first batch went so quickly with leftover ham and then again with butter and jams on Christmas Day. Being in Denver I need to add 2 teaspoons extra of water, but that is the only change I make. I grew up in a German community in south Texas and these bring back so many memeories!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxCoTx December 29, 2008

This was an amazing recipe!! First of all, it was easy! Second of all, it made my house smell like a bakery. And third of all, we lived in Germany and these taste like authentic brotchens! My family loved them and I can't wait to make them again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Girl December 01, 2008

I will try this recipe again, but I will place the SALT into my dough instead of seeing it still sitting on my counter 1/2 way through the first rising. Omitting salt (an oversight of this instructions) in any bread recipe can lead to Stringy, unresponsive dough that pulls away in strands and does ont get any better. Later when the dough is baked, the bread tastes flat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
6599749 March 23, 2008

Great brotchen! We lived in Germany and now that we are back in the States one of the (many) things we miss is the incredible bread. These were wonderful made exactly as written. Next time, I will cut an "x" into the top of each roll before the last rise.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danny's Diner February 06, 2014

These came out great! Crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside. The only thing I did apart from the recipe was to add a pan of ice to the oven at the same time I put the rolls in. I've heard the steam helps with the texture of the crust. I'm looking forward to making these again, but make the rolls larger for sandwiches. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 05, 2011
Brotchen (German Rolls)