Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Brotchen (German Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Brotchen (German Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2013

      Nice rolls, easy to make and pretty fast for yeast rolls. Made for nice sandwich rolls with a crusty outside and soft inside and held it's shape well with sandwich fixings. Wish I'd read another reviewers comment about slatching before baking for appearance sake, but the taste was right on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      If you make a slice across the top of the rolls right before you bake them, they'll look more like the ones in germany

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This is my third time making brotchen and this recipe is perfect! I followed it exactly as written. My husband used to go to Germany quite a bit and always talked about how good the rolls are there. He said these are it! Thank you for sharing and God bless!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      The German exchange student and I made these at my folks place. AMAZING! He said, "We can all die now because it doesn't get any better than this."
      Def, AMAZING ROLLS. Easy directions to follow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I used this recipe in my bread machine on the 'dough only' cycle, starting with 2 1/2 cups of flour and adding a little more at a time until the dough left the sides of the pan. My husband can't get enough of them and said I've spoiled him for any other brotchen! Add the liquid ingredients first, then the oil, sugar, and salt. Next, evenly distribute 2 1/2 c of Bread flour, and make a shallow ditch (or well) in the center and add 'Yeast for bread machines'. *** When the dough has finished the 'rise' cycle, pour it out onto a floured board and punch down by folding. Then divide into 8 sections (for larger rolls) and shape into balls. Cover and let rise until doubled (45 minutes to an hour) and while the oven is heating up to 425 degrees, brush on a mixture of eggwhite and 1 tbsp of water. Put in preheated oven and set timer for 5 minutes. Mist with cold water. Set it for another 5 minutes and mist again. Bake for another 12 to 15 minutes, until light brown. Remove from oven and let cool. They will be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I'm currently making these for the second time! The first batch went so quickly with leftover ham and then again with butter and jams on Christmas Day. Being in Denver I need to add 2 teaspoons extra of water, but that is the only change I make. I grew up in a German community in south Texas and these bring back so many memeories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was an amazing recipe!! First of all, it was easy! Second of all, it made my house smell like a bakery. And third of all, we lived in Germany and these taste like authentic brotchens! My family loved them and I can't wait to make them again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I will try this recipe again, but I will place the SALT into my dough instead of seeing it still sitting on my counter 1/2 way through the first rising. Omitting salt (an oversight of this instructions) in any bread recipe can lead to Stringy, unresponsive dough that pulls away in strands and does ont get any better. Later when the dough is baked, the bread tastes flat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      Great brotchen! We lived in Germany and now that we are back in the States one of the (many) things we miss is the incredible bread. These were wonderful made exactly as written. Next time, I will cut an "x" into the top of each roll before the last rise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      These came out great! Crusty on the outside and chewy on the inside. The only thing I did apart from the recipe was to add a pan of ice to the oven at the same time I put the rolls in. I've heard the steam helps with the texture of the crust. I'm looking forward to making these again, but make the rolls larger for sandwiches. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      excellent rolls, I prefer it with a little bit more salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      You are spot on with this recipe. The texture of the rolls is perfect and the outside crisp and chewy. 1 made a batch and a half and they disappeared fast!. I will be making these again soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      A wonderful recipe. Just like my Great Grandma use to make. Cooking in my gas stove 15 min. was plenty. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Brotchen (German Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    81%
    Total Fat 0.7 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 199.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes