15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this today for lunch using a meduim sized tomato just for me but following the recipe as is. Two tomato halves and a glass of white wine and I was in heaven but when I was done I wanted more! The second batch I changed up a tad bit. I scooped out the tomato seeds and popped a couple fresh baby mozzarella balls in them. I made the bread crumb mixture as stated with the addition of some fresh chopped basil, salt, and pepper. After topping the tomatoes I cooked them for about 10 minutes at 300 degrees and then broiled them to get them nice and brown on top. I'm tempted to go in and make some more! They taste like a magarhita pizza. Lovely, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slatts July 25, 2008

I have to review this based on the opinion of the tomato lover in the house, dh. Great flavor, lovely presentation and simply a breeze to prep, this will return to our table. Thanks for sharing this! Made and reviewed for zwt team shady ladies. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriInIndiana June 10, 2011

I really enjoyed these broiled tomatoes. The tomatoes were tender and had so much flavor, the crowning glory was the cheese topping it was awesome. A quick and easy recipe to make thanks so much for sharing. Made for ZWT7

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 31, 2011

I can only say that I agree with everyone else. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 30, 2011

Delicious! I had to force myself to stop eating these. I followed the recipe. The best use for my over productive tomato plants yet! Thanks so much for posting :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Planner September 24, 2008

With tomatoes being a real abundunce right now I have been looking for new ways to serve them....this was a great way and we really enjoyed them...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 29, 2008

Prepared as "Slatts" -- de-seeded and packed the hollows with fresh mozzerella, topped with breadcrumb mixture and basil. baked at 300* for 1o min., the broiled for 5 min. Prepared 3 large tomatoes FRESH from the garden, and DH and I ate the WHOLE THING !! Will be serving this many more times, as the tomatoes produce. Thankls, *Parsley* for an addition to the summer menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney August 11, 2008

These were so good! I did omit the thyme and thought they were perfect without it. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess May 29, 2008

YUMMM! Of course it's mid January so I had to use Roma's as that the only near decent tomato to be had. I cut off the stem end and sliced them in half length-wise. Two things I did a bit different were to "bake" the tomatoes for about 5 mins, lower over, so they were a bit roasted on the bottom. Then, I swithed to the broiler, topped the tomatoes with the mixture, and "broiled" for about two mins, top oven. I had to use a mix of mozzarella, provalone, parmesan,and romano cheeses as that's what I had on hand. Will definitely make thesea again....a great side for shredded pork w/gravy and rolls for a super Saturday lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP January 12, 2008

I really liked these! I was worried that there wasn't enough breadcrumbs vs. cheese, but after broiling, they were perfect. This would make a good accompaniment to most any meal. Thanks Parsley!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup December 20, 2007
Broiled Mozzarella Tomatoes