10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed this Indian spiced fish recipe. It was easy to prepare and packed a lot of flavor. I used swordfish and halved the recipe to suit 1 lb of fish, which worked fine. Other than halving, we made no modifications to the recipe. It was perfect as is. We served with Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes 17382 as a side. Thanks for a great, easy dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 15, 2010

Yummy! Easy, fast, healthy and delicious. LOVE IT! I followed the recipe except for the water. I just added lemon juice to make the paste. I did not add as much butter. I used Reynolds non-stick aluminum foil and no butter. I did put about 1 teaspoon of butter on top of the fish before putting into the broiler. The kids thought it was too spicy but we loved it. I will make this again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 March 05, 2009

I'll just leave comments as I didn't broil the fish! I made 1/2 marinade recipe for a 220 g salmon fillet; marinated for 20 minutes, baked in the oven, 20 minutes at 200 C. (How is that for a constellation of 2's? :-) ) Turned out delicious!! Not super-spicy at all, just very flavourful and lovely. Will definitely make again - thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee February 09, 2009

This is really simple and very tasty but I think it just over powered our Spangled Emperor (in the snapper family) fillets a bit. I would be inclined to halve the mustard powder and omit the cayenne for our tastes. We also used low fat margarine like Sarah Jayne.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS October 30, 2008

We really enjoyed this recipe. I made it with salmon. Lots of flavor in every bite! I always like recipes from Madhur Jaffrey. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 01, 2008

Wow, does this pack flavor! I used salmon because I already had it in the freezer and it took the seasoning really well. I also used a low fat margarine instead of the butter just to try to keep the fat as low as I could and it still turned out well for me. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne May 27, 2008

This was very easy to do and had excellent taste. I used catfish fillets. Beautiful and yummy. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary winecoff May 26, 2008

I used salmon because I couldn't seem to find anything else affordable at two different grocery stores. I didn't think it would be the best fish for this recipe, but it turned out beautifully! This is extremely flavorful and easy to make! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leeloo78 May 21, 2008

I used haddock for this dish, made exactly as written & got a unique 1st time flavor for us. The prep was a snap for this & worthy of 5 stars just for that! While we both liked this, DH did admit he more favors less spicy versions for the much-revered Icleandic seafood. His palate has been spoiled it would seem, but I'm working to change that. Thx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 05, 2006

Absoultely delish! I used halibut steaks and skipped the mustard (out of) for wonderful spicy fish. Thanks for sharing this keeper which we will be having often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ May 27, 2006
Broiled Indian Spiced Fish