31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Unbelieveable, but I recommend these changes. Bake 400 degrees for 10mins and then add the topping and broil on low for 8-10min. I substituted honey mustard for 50/50 regular and spicy brown. Add green onion and powdered garlic to the sauce if you have it. And lastly, the best part, top with crunchy french onions. Serve with jasmine rice.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BENNY-HA-HA January 10, 2010

My (gas) broiler has 2 settings, low and high. I cooked this 4 inches from flame on low, but the topping scorched. I cooked it again with the rack one position lower, kept an eye on it and shut off the broiler at 8 minutes, letting it sit in oven last 2 minutes. It was perfect.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
It's loose again March 06, 2004

We made some changes to this. Without the changes, I probably would have ranked it a four. We added finely chopped tomato and chopped fresh basil to the sauce. It was delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D February 27, 2011

This was just excellent. The mustard provided just enough zing to the topping. I baked mine at 500 degrees as suggested by some other reviewers--the fish was done in 10 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 February 13, 2008

I put the heat at 500 degrees and placed the fish in the center of the oven and checked it for 15 minutes. That was too long, but the fish was still moist although it tasted salty to me so go easy on the parmesan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barb572000 January 16, 2013

LOVED this recipe, but did tweak it a bit: didn't use olive oil and substituted low fat Hellman's and then sprayed the entire top with olive oil spray. I thought it was the best haddock I've ever eaten. Thank you for posting! A

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msstudlee October 21, 2012

This was a great recipe! Although I didn't have the right mustard but it was still really good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiggley October 13, 2012

Really good. I used spicy brown mustard. But. Saw a couple reviews that added dill or basil. I tried both. The basil won by far! I couldn't even imagine eating this without adding basil!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayks84 September 17, 2012

Made this last night with the haddock fillet that was on sale. Like other reviewers, I added some grated purple onion (did not want chunks of onion in the sauce) and a small amount of dill weed. I tasted the sauce both with and without the onion and dill. it definitely needs the both to give it character. Baked the fish at 500 degrees for 12 minutes. It was perfectly done and nicely browned. Hubby said it was "OK". He doesn't like sauce on anything so OK is actually a compliment. Adult daughter and I really liked it. Will be making again, and will probably make with other white fish such as cod or tilapia and serve as a side sauce for baked salmon. P.S. Served with steamed rice and asparagus. I sampled some of the sauce with the asparagus and it went very well. Would also make a good salad dressing if you thin it with a small amount of milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keatinkp October 29, 2011
Broiled Haddock Fillets