Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broiled grapefruit, KID-PLEASER - adults too! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broiled grapefruit, KID-PLEASER - adults too!

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2003

      WOW!! what a surprise treat! we live by alot of grapefruit groves so I decided to try this with the tons of grapefruit I have and YUM!!!and my kids loved it too! YAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I LOVE grapefruit and it's weird taste, but haven't eaten it for a couple of years - since being put on blood pressure tablets. Apparently it reacts with them and therefore grapefruit is the ONE thing they definitely say we (DH and I) cannot eat!
      Nevertheless, I just had to try this recipe - oh, it was heavenly!
      I used a semi-raw sugar, produced here in Australia, which is actually low G.I. so is safe for diabetics. (Called LOGIcane.) Combined with the cinnamon, with the lovely warm grapefruit (never had it warm before) I felt like I'd died and gone to heaven.
      And, yes, I did have the maraschino cherry on top - five, in fact!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Hi this was a fresh tasty breakfast, I usually just eat my grapefruit as it is but it was a very pleasant change. I am a diabetic and grapefruit is one we can have, so because of that I used splenda with my cinnamon, and didn't use too much as it can burn quite easily and that would not have been nice. But I made up for the sugar with the cinnamon, I do love cinnamon and guess what that is great for diabetics to, so I was very generous with that. I would definitely make this again, well actually I might just have it tomorrow again to use the other half. Thank you for posting Made for Honor thy Mother the diabetic forum May 2011

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      I had never tried a recipe like this because I was a grapefruit "purist" and thought I loved it plain. Well, when the Christmas grapefruit were still in the refrigerator in March, I realized that wasn't true! This is so easy, and gives the fruit just a little oomph to make it really tasty. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to mix the sugar and cinnamon together before sprinkling.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Not a kid but did enjoy this very much! So simple yet so tasty! Didn't add the cherry though! Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      Tried this for breakfast and what a lovely surprise. I usually just sprinkle a little salt on my grapefruit and that's about it. Tried this, (warm it was tasty!!) and it was soooo good and simple to make. I followed exactly and really enjoyed the extra crunchy taste that came with the carmilized sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      I love grapefruit...especially sugared! LOL! This is really delicious and you may even want to try grapefruit with brown sugar...I think it is even better. If you like grapefruit you will probably like this. If you don't like grapefruit give it a whirl anyway, you may enjoy it (just get a red grapfruit it is better). And don't worry if this gets warm...believe it or not warm grapefruit is tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      My husband and I found it somewhat interesting- though we usually don't like grapefruit too well- my kids, who usually do like grapefruit did NOT like it- and refused to eat it- even my (usually) non- picky eater. Did find it to be less sour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      I have never liked grapefruit, but I really enjoy this and have made it several times. thanks to this recipe I have found I really do like grapefruit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      I have never tried grapefruit with sugar and cinnamon, only cold with white sugar or broiled with brown sugar only. I will have to try this as a lady at my school was giving away some of her grapefruits off her tree and she gave me two. I'm eating one right now, but broiled the way I normally do it. I'll save this recipe and try it with the other grapefruit. For the reviewer who wanted to know how to eat a grapefruit when prepared this way, cut the grapefruit in half between the ends so when it's cut open it looks like a wheel with several triangular sections. What I do is I cut the sections first before adding the sugar (or whatever you're topping it with) that way it's ready to eat after you take it from the broiler. Scoop the loosened sections of the grapefruit out with a spoon. When sections are eaten, grab grapefruit half and squeeze it over your spoon until no more juice comes out, and drink the juice. :) Yum! UPDATE: Broiled a pink grapefruit with cinnamon sugar which I'd already premixed; nice change and flavor, thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      For grapefruit, this is excellent. I avoid grapefruit bc of its bitter flavor, however I was given a great fruit basket for Christmas and needed to use the grapefruit for something. I have tried grapefruit since my childhood by salting it or eating cold with sugar, however broiling was something I've never tried. This was definitely excellent, the ONLY way I'll ever eat a grapefruit whole again. I didn't have a maraschino, and probably won't use them in the future, just the grapefruit cinnamon and sugar were perfect. Love it warm! My only question at this point is what is the best way to eat it? It was a huge juicy mess, I couldn't figure it out. My dh gave up and wasted his.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I forgot the cinnamon, and the kids don't like the cherries (don't ask me why they're so WEIRD!). But we loved 'em like this. Used the grapefruit we bought from the high school FFA's fund-raiser fruit sale. *Winter 2007*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      this was really good, i really liked the grapefruit piping hot, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      I loved this, and had no idea that grapefruit could be so tasty! And it was especially easy to prepapre with the toaster oven at work. Everyone was jealous of my fragrant and yummt breakfast.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      I used brown sugar. Broiled about 2 minutes. Yum. This really seems to make the grapefruit come away from the rind easier. Everyone liked this and my son said he would like his grapefruit this way from now on. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I used brown sugar. Loved the cinnamon-- I would have never thought of grapefruit and cinnamon! Still, I think this recipe is for those who are already grapefruit lovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I would have never thought to broil grapefruit! My home was built around a grapfruit orchard so I have about 20 full size grapefruit trees in my yard. I'm always trying to find new recipes for grapefruit. Thanks for the recipe! I'm sure I will make this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I decided to try this for breakfast this morning because I had a few grapefruits that needed to be eaten and my husband hasn't been willing to eat any. I thought it was going to be super sweet with all that sugar but it was perfect! The cinnamon was a surprisingly good compliment to the grapefruit flavor and the warmth of the fruit was very good. Even my husband loved it! I will definitely be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I liked this. I tried this one and the one made with brown sugar on here. I liked this one better. The cinnamon definitely helps the grapefruit (which has a rather offensive taste IMO) go down. I broiled it on high on the top rack for 2 minutes and it burned. Next time I will try to broil it on low and on a lower shelf to try to melt the sugar/cinnamon before the grapefruit burns.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      The cinnamon really did wonders for the grapefruit. I placed it on the second broil level from the top which made it about 4-6 inches away and it took about 6 minutes for the inside sugar to start to melt. Which in turn made the grapefruit warm when you ate it. I wonder if I put it on the top level if the sugar would have melted faster with out burning anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broiled grapefruit, KID-PLEASER - adults too!

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 62.9
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    71%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes