Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broil a Perfect Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broil a Perfect Steak

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 24, 2011

      When I did not have a grill I found this recipe about 2 years ago and love it. Even when I bought a grill I still make my steaks this way. I like mine medium rare and they come out perfect every time. So tender and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

    • on July 04, 2011

      GREAT recipe!

      We were wanting to cook out for the 4th of July, but with storms on the horizon, I decided to find a recipe to broil our sirloin steaks.

      I dug out or cast iron skillet from our camping gear and proceeded to follow te directions. I got both sides seared and had just turned the oven up to 500 degrees when our power went out!
      So.......I ended up cooking the steaks on our gas grill the rest of the time, which ended up being about 10 minutes. I kept the steaks in the cast iron skillet as to maintain the juices, and they turned out perfect!

      This was the first time I have ever cooked/grilled steaks and have them remain juicy, and be tender as well.

      I will definitely be using this recipe over and over!

      THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Followed this recipe last night with a 2" thick bison filet. It turned out perfect. - Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      I had some beautiful Ribeyes that I wanted to grill over Memorial Day weekend for my BF and I, it turned out to be much too windy to cook outside. I used this technique and it worked great. The BF likes well done (why?) were as I am a medium rare girl. This worked perfectly for both. Until now I had tried to make a steak that was well done and still tender to no avail even with different marinades etc. I did add a bit of tenderizer and garlic powder. He LOVED it. Thanks for bridging the gap for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      I got perfect steaks based on your precise directions for cooking per steak thickness. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2011

      It didn't look visually appealing, but I'm a fan of grill marks. Besides that, I ate like a king. The steaks came out moist and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I have never ever broiled anything before. Found this recipe and decided to give it a try. Had NY Strip steaks. Followed this recipe step by step!!!! This steak was so moist! The best steak we have ever tasted. Will use this from now on! So easy! Thanks for saving the day! YUM-O!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      this made a PERFECT filet mignon!! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      I had been following a similar recipe for years, but I tried this one tonight. And this one is much better. My only change is to add cumin and garlic powder to the mix. An excellent steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      WOW!! This was one of the best steaks I've ever had. I used Grillemates Southwest Marinade and marinated all day-cooked as stated and it was sooo good!!! I used a T-Bone Steak that I bought this morning. Paired this with my famous fried potatoes-which I need to post on Zaar-and it was all so awesome. Thanks for sharing Kimc12.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I recently came across this method in a different Zaar steak recipe (Pan-Seared Rib Eye Steak With Smoked Paprika Rub), and have used the method (but not the recipe's seasonings) the last several times I made steak. Most recently, I rubbed my flank steaks with cumin, chili powder and garlic salt for use in delicious fajitas after searing them in the skillet for just a minute each side - SO good! As other reviewers have noted, my kitchen gets FILLED with smoke (and my whole apt too), but with lack of a grill, it's totally worth it. The taste is wonderful! I usually sprinkle my steaks with garlic powder as well as the kosher salt and pepper. Thanks for posting a great and easy way to make steaks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      We ran out of gas, and I went online to find times for broiling a 1 3/4 inch bone-in shell steak, found this method and tried it. I followed the instructions to the letter and my steaks came out perfect. I am going to broil steaks this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      We had two very cheap steaks. Not a good cut at all. ($2.37 for both on sale) Marinated them at room temp for one hour. Dried them off, and cooked them otherwise exactly the way it states here. I was absolutely amazed at how tender and tasty those steaks were. My husband was very scared when I told him I was going to do it a different way. But he later said if I don't cook them like that every time from now on, my stuff will be in the driveway.. he he.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      I had no idea how to broil anything and I really appreciated the thorough directions. I don't know if I need to lower my oven rack (it was 6 inches from the element) but my steaks were well done after broiling them 3 minutes on each side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Oh, yum, yum! These are soooooo good. This was my first attempt at steak since DH is the meat "expert" around here. He literally said that he was "impressed". I nearly fell out of my chair! He has never given me that compliment before. I second another poster that this made my kitchen REALLY smokey. But so worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      You know, I usually hate steaks done any other way than on the grill, this technique has changed my mind. I can't say I would get rid of my grill but on a cold and rainy day, this is fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly. The steaks had a great crust, a wonderful flavor and I stayed dry and warm while fixing them. Don't be afraid to try this recipe, this was the best steak I EVER had cooking it in the house! Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      Kimc12 my steaks came out perfect! I used the Healthy Heart steaks from QVC. I cooke them in my cast iron grill pan. I believe the cast iron really made the difference. DH and DS were thrilled their steak wasn't overcooked (for once olololol). I will use this method all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Very good!! We only used a flank steak, but it came out very tender and full of flavor. We'll use this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      I've never been good at making steak. Since I like my steaks well done, they nearly always come out unchewable--this came out just the right amount of done and still tender! I did not use your seasoning, I used a steak marinade recipe from http://www.recipezaar.com/66648, but I will continue to use this method of broiling for all my steak recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broil a Perfect Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    29%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 79.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 61.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites