Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broil a Perfect Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broil a Perfect Steak

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2008

      I was really happy to have this recipe during the winter when we couldn't use our grill. Steaks got a great sear on the outside, but stayed nice and pink on the inside. My only problem is that our house usually got pretty smoky and set off the smoke alarm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      If there's not a grill handy, this is a great way to go. Even cheaper cuts turn out great.

      This recipe calls for two steaks. For a single steak, I've found cutting the sear and main cooking times a little short makes for better results (but that's just my oven; YMMV).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Turned out perfect, rainy day - great steak!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      GREAT recipe! Yes house did get a little smoky, I guess it depends on what type of setup you have. I turned a 7 dollar nice rib eye steak into a 26 dollar nice rib eye steak at a local chain, just as good and flavorable. Definitely recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      This recipe is wonderful! I seasoned the steaks with Montreal Steak Seasoning and Worchester Sauce in a plastic bag, than I transferred steaks to a bag with garlic & oil that I had used for the cauliflower. My husband, Lou bought me a cast iron skillet. We heated it up to 20 minutes on broil, than added steaks, cooked 3 minutes per side, than served directly from the skillet, to die for

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Bought gorgeous steaks for a dinner party and panicked when it was too stormy to grill that night. Found this recipe online, crossed my fingers and gave it a try. What a success! And what a shock how good meat can be from the oven. Everyone was surprised. As mentioned, be prepared for a VERY smoky house when the oven door opens (and warn your guests!) But it doesn't last long and worth it. (I also laid fresh rosemary sprigs on top during the second part of the process, and removed before serving.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

    • on July 28, 2014

      Really good and Easy. I have a cast iron skillet and it worked perfectly. I like it better than broiling and the clean up is much easier (no broiler to clean up, only a skillet)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      My 17 year old 'budding chef'' followed the directions to a 'T' and the steaks were perfectly scrumptious! He was a little skeptical only using the olive oil, salt & pepper to season, BUT this recipe made him a believer! Definitely a keeper....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      Very easy to follow directions that make an excellent steak. We made this as stated with lots of pepper and just a bit of salt because that is how we like them. We will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      This is such an educational and fantastic recipe! I adore the time/temperature chart! We don't have a grill but with this recipe, I can make perfect steaks with my oven! Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      We had from seasoning from our local supermarket, and this was the perfect way to cook the steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      This was a fantastic, easy to follow recipe %u2665 I love steak, but had given up on cooking them at home because I just couldn't get it right, they were always overdone and tough. We'd come across a special on steak at the grocery store so I picked them up and figured I'd give it another try. I scoured the internet for about an hour looking for a good, indoor steak recipe. This one had consistently great reviews and seemed very easy, so I decided to try it, even though I'd never used the broiler before.

      I dug out my new cast iron grill skillet (I encourage everyone to invest in one, I love mine!!) and heated it in the oven as the recipe instructs. The only things I did differently are: I marinated the steaks in Teriyaki marinade instead of the kosher salt rub suggested and when I broiled it, I left the oven door open a crack. (As I'd mentioned, this was my first time broiling so I did some research before I turned that baby on. Apparently with electric ranges, it is advised to broil with the door open at the point where it's almost closed but not quite)
      Because I had the door open a crack while broiling, I gave the final bake time an extra 3 or 4 minutes. They came out beautifully! And because of the grill skillet, they still had the grill marks you'd see on a steak cooked outside on the grill.
      The outside had that nice seared taste and the inside was just the right amount of pink, and juicy!!
      I've found my new, favorite (and only!) way to cook a steak inside :) Thank you for posting this recipe! I signed up for food.com just so I could post this review and share a picture of the steak :) lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      So thankful I found this recipe - I currently don't have a grill (nor would I know how to use even if I owned it) & had been curious on how to use my broiler anyway. I agree the instructions were thorough & helpful. I followed them exactly, and if you notice from the pic I posted, it's pretty well done (the hubby freaks when he sees bloody meat) but still maintained juice & was pretty darn good. I think I may have left it in a minute or two too long for my personal taste, so I will try this recipe again. And yes, this created all kinds of smoke - do follow my lead and make sure your fans are on & doors/windows are opened before you start preparing. In fact, preparing your house for ventilation should be the first step! :) Will keep this in my recipe binder, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Fantastic! I've never broiled much, but have always loved steak cooked anyway. Was going to grill it, but very windy and rain threatening, and was pleasantly surprised to find this excellent recipe! My steak was delicious! Only thing was I did set off two smoke alarms! Next time I will just remember to put the fan on when cooking this again. I'm definitely going to try this "method" with pork chops and perhaps chicken as well! Will have to "wing" the cook time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was a life saver! I made steak out of a cookbook for the first time a couple of weeks ago and did not know what i was doing - set off the smoke alarms and the steaks came out tough and bloody as heck.

      Was a little nervous to try again after the first disaster but out of all the instructions i found on how to cook steak, this was by far the easiest to follow and they came out PERFECT. The only thing I did different was switch the skillet for a broiling pan/grill with a little water in the pan to diffuse some of the smoke. My fiance said even though he was full, he couldn't quit eating, they were so good and tender. And I didn't set off the smoke alarm :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      The directions were plain and simple to follow wich is a good thing for any novis cook the food came out excelant my wife was very happy with the overall results only thing that should be added is a seasoning selection to atempt to find ones pallet and or help to guide in discovering one. Other then that the food was very pleasant and very close to how the Outback would prepare and serve this dish i would love to know there seasoning blend thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Used an old iron skillet this recipe was " Da Bomb"! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      First time making this and it was great and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Great easy technique for steaks. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broil a Perfect Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.0
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    29%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 79.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 61.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 29.4 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites