Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2004

      This soup is so easy to make and tastes fantastic! I made it once the original way, but have since added shallots, instead of cream I tried sour cream, that was also good! This time I am going to try it with low fat yogurt, always a pleaser!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Easy and good. I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion about sauteeing the onion/garlic in the oil before adding other ingredients. Either plain yogurt or milk works fine (it's good without, too, but the addition gives the soup a nicer body). I used garam masala instead of curry powder. Blending is essential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Wow. This soup is so delicious and so ridiculously easy to make. I used yogurt rather than cream, and thought it was great. I thought it tasted pretty good, even without the yogurt, so someone trying to avoid dairy products might enjoy this, without yogurt or cream. I only had frozen, chopped broccoli on hand, so this recipe took me only minutes to make (not including simmering time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This was perfect! The potatoes thickened the soup so you didn't really need the cream, but I love cream so I added it anyway and used Colombo curry (which I got from this site but don't know the recipe#). I could just eat it as is, but for the family I added a scoop of rice to their bowls, covered it with the soup and topped it off with some peeled tiger shrimp that I'd poached in butter and the same curry powder. Definitely a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Ohhh...baby! This was gooood!!! I followed other reviewer's comments and added 1 large onion sauteed with 4 garlic cloves...had about 10 baby potatoes to use up...used chicken broth...curry and added about 1/2 - 3/4 cup of grated cheese that I had in the freezer. I thought the curry and cheddar cheese made the dish!! This was fast, easy and I had soup on the table under 30 minutes. Now that is my type of cooking!!! Kudos on this wonderful comfort soup!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      this soup is UNBELIEVABLY easy to make, and its SOO good! my husband hates curry and he really loved the flavor it gave this soup.i added 1 zucchini and 2 serrano chili peppers as i like my food a little on the spicy side. but it tastes really great even with my addition. I accompanied it with toasted ciabatta bread with melted Cotswold Double gloucester cheese on it...yum yum yum..this is a go-to recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I'm lactose intolerant, so can't have cream of broccoli soup, but I can handle a bit of yogurt because the lactose gets lessened by the culture. I didn't think of yogurt myself, so I thank you and am going to try this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      To make it thicker I used extra broccoli, I had a lot that was about to go bad. I did 1/2 cup of plain ff yogurt, and 3 oz. of rf cheddar. It is so awesome! I absolutely love it. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Very tasty! I didn't use the curry and used plain yogurt to minimize calories. Next time I'll reduce the chicken stock to make the soup just a bit thicker. I like healthy soups and this fits the bill!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      This was a great and easy soup! We really loved it...I sauteed up some onions and garlic first just to sweat them in olive oil, then added the veggies, stock and salt and let it cook. I grated cheddar cheese over top b/c I have to add cheese to everything. It was wonderful..thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      We loved this soup! The curry adds great flavor. Very Unique!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2005

      I like the simplicity and good nutrition of this soup. I used 4c stock; that was plenty, using 1 bunch of broccoli and 2 smaller potatoes. The curry really adds a nice zip. I normally don't like curried foods, but in this recipe you get the warmth without the strong flavor of curry. Very nice. Next time I'll cut the amount, though, as my kids weren't as excited about their broccoli soup this time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2005

      This is a VERY good soup. Comforting, as you said. It's very rich, and the texture was thick using 2 potatoes and 1 broccoli

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2004

      Very tasty soup. I skipped the cream and didn't miss it at all. Next time I'll use 4 cups of broth rather than six.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      This soup is delicious! I've never made a soup of any kind before, and this recipe was easy to follow and most importantly it tastes good. Great to eat on a cold fall day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      "This is a very tasty soup" - a direct quote from my husband! I forgot to save florets for the garnish, used very light (6%) cream & added a dollop of low fat yogurt when serving. I used 6 cups of stock (half chicken & half veggie) and 2 medium potatoes and it was thick enough. Thanx P4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2004

      Very tasty, very simple soup. We used half cream and half yogurt and did add the curry powder. It's amazing how well the curry powder flavor pairs with the broccoli- I never would have thought. We used 1 head of broccoli and 2 stalks and 1 potato. Worked very well. I used 6 cups of homemade vegetable stock, but I think I would have liked it more with more like 4-5 cups for a thicker, creamier soup. Elegant, simple flavors- we ate it with leftover hushpuppies and fish sandwiches. Great Monday night dinner. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      Yummy! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.1
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    67%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 81.5 mg
    27%
    Sodium 76.2 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites