18 Reviews

This soup is so easy to make and tastes fantastic! I made it once the original way, but have since added shallots, instead of cream I tried sour cream, that was also good! This time I am going to try it with low fat yogurt, always a pleaser!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor in Belgium March 27, 2004

Easy and good. I followed a previous reviewer's suggestion about sauteeing the onion/garlic in the oil before adding other ingredients. Either plain yogurt or milk works fine (it's good without, too, but the addition gives the soup a nicer body). I used garam masala instead of curry powder. Blending is essential.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Omniveg November 09, 2013

Wow. This soup is so delicious and so ridiculously easy to make. I used yogurt rather than cream, and thought it was great. I thought it tasted pretty good, even without the yogurt, so someone trying to avoid dairy products might enjoy this, without yogurt or cream. I only had frozen, chopped broccoli on hand, so this recipe took me only minutes to make (not including simmering time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
P-do February 25, 2012

This was perfect! The potatoes thickened the soup so you didn't really need the cream, but I love cream so I added it anyway and used Colombo curry (which I got from this site but don't know the recipe#). I could just eat it as is, but for the family I added a scoop of rice to their bowls, covered it with the soup and topped it off with some peeled tiger shrimp that I'd poached in butter and the same curry powder. Definitely a keeper, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GuavaJelli March 22, 2011

Ohhh...baby! This was gooood!!! I followed other reviewer's comments and added 1 large onion sauteed with 4 garlic cloves...had about 10 baby potatoes to use up...used chicken broth...curry and added about 1/2 - 3/4 cup of grated cheese that I had in the freezer. I thought the curry and cheddar cheese made the dish!! This was fast, easy and I had soup on the table under 30 minutes. Now that is my type of cooking!!! Kudos on this wonderful comfort soup!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 21, 2010

this soup is UNBELIEVABLY easy to make, and its SOO good! my husband hates curry and he really loved the flavor it gave this soup.i added 1 zucchini and 2 serrano chili peppers as i like my food a little on the spicy side. but it tastes really great even with my addition. I accompanied it with toasted ciabatta bread with melted Cotswold Double gloucester cheese on it...yum yum yum..this is a go-to recipe from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cdserna86 August 05, 2010

I'm lactose intolerant, so can't have cream of broccoli soup, but I can handle a bit of yogurt because the lactose gets lessened by the culture. I didn't think of yogurt myself, so I thank you and am going to try this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbow - Chef 536866 February 07, 2010

To make it thicker I used extra broccoli, I had a lot that was about to go bad. I did 1/2 cup of plain ff yogurt, and 3 oz. of rf cheddar. It is so awesome! I absolutely love it. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vovasgirl October 24, 2008

Very tasty! I didn't use the curry and used plain yogurt to minimize calories. Next time I'll reduce the chicken stock to make the soup just a bit thicker. I like healthy soups and this fits the bill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPerez May 09, 2007

This was a great and easy soup! We really loved it...I sauteed up some onions and garlic first just to sweat them in olive oil, then added the veggies, stock and salt and let it cook. I grated cheddar cheese over top b/c I have to add cheese to everything. It was wonderful..thanks very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liza at Food.com November 17, 2006
Broccoli Soup