35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was such an interesting twist on a salad! We all really enjoyed it. I made a couple of changes- I used 1/3 cup each of olive oil, sugar and red wine vinegar. I used Vidalia onion instead of the green because that's all I hand on hand. Thanks for a new family favorite that I'm betting will be even tastier for lunch tomorrow!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FudgeBunny June 17, 2008

I'll add my review to the many others here. This is delicious, and especially quick and easy to make. I used one reviewer's tip of 1/3 cup of olive oil, sugar and rice vinegar, which was exactly the right amount of dressing. The other thing I did was toast the almonds, which added some great flavor and crunch. It's a favorite, already!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire de Luna July 21, 2007

I have made this twice now, and it's been a HIT each time. I use 1/3 cup each of olive oil, vinegar & sugar for the dressing and then have added a teaspoon of sesame oil. I've used a combo of Oriental Ramen and Chicken Ramen which has been fine. I can only find dry roasted sunflower seeds, but they have fit well. I toasted the almonds which I think adds some good flavor. Both times I've made this, I put the slaw & green onions in a big bowl, put the nuts & ramen in tupperware, and kept the dressing in a mason jar until I was at the party, then mix it all together when I arrive so the ramen stays crunchy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely February 07, 2011

I halved the recipe, quartered the dressing . Great salad. Very quick and easy to do. I did roast the almond, sunflower seeds and ramen noodles at 350 deg for 7 min. and added roasted chicken breast.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 29, 2009

We had this salad at my husband's sister's house and husband fell in love with it. I thought it good too so searched for it and found this recipe. This is EXCELLENT!Husband can almost eat the whole salad in one night. Only difference with mine is I toast the almonds in butter and delete the sunflowers seeds. Used white vinegar and to cut the calories, I used Splenda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 May 13, 2008

I absolutely love this recipe. Everytime I take this to a party I get rave reviews. It's great. For the dressing I use 1/3 C. sugar, 1/3 C. vinegar, and 1/3 C. oil. It's the perfect amount of each.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriwhited September 25, 2006

Hi all: I used 1/4 cup canola oil omitted the noodles added a dash of rice wine vinegar and a dash of white vinegar a dash or two of brown sugar along with two small serving boxes of raisins. Delicious. I used two bags of broccoli slaw and plenty of onion, both Vidalia and red, some salt n peppa and a wee bit of sage n rosemary. Mmmmmmm! Healthy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly C. June 07, 2014

We enjoyed this so much! Made half a recipe (only two of us!) and used 1/4 C. oil, 1/4 C. rice vinegar, 1/4 C. sugar and 1 packet of seasoning from the ramen. Added in a generous handful of deli-roasted chicken and it made a perfect and oh-so-fast main entree for dinner. I didn't have green onions so I used a little diced red onion and I happened to have 1 or 2 Tbsp. of chopped cilantro left over so I tossed it in. Delicious! I recommend it! Thanks.

Update: Made it again for a second time and this time used the "oriental" flavored ramen. Very good! Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making March 01, 2012

Really good. I've had trouble doing a slaw dressing from scratch that I really liked but I think I finally found one that I like. Served it with a big Turkey dinner on thanksgiving. The ramen noodles were a good addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OCMom1 November 26, 2010
Broccoli Slaw