Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Siciliano Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Siciliano

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2010

      This was so good! I didn't really have a lot of stuff to cook with and was determined to make a meal out of bow tie pasta and broccoli. I found this recipe and tried it without the tomato and mushrooms, but added a little bit of rosemary and some minced garlic. This was such a good dinner put together with foods I usually have on-hand. My husband and I both loved it and will definitely be having it again. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      this was nice and simple, i ommited the mushrooms and subbed red peppers, though i overcooked the pasta which kindof spoiled everything. :( live and learn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      I made this today. I had just finished when my daughter dropped by, the first thing she said when she saw the dish was "this should be called Christmas Pasta with the beautiful red and green colors". This was not only pretty but very tasty. We all loved it!! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      Wonderful sidedish with a great combination of flavors! Followed the recipe except for using only 1/4 cup of light butter( counting calories!)and I saved 1 cup of the cooking liquid for the sauce. This went very well with our grilled pork tenderlion chops and garlic bread- everyone belonged to the "clean plate club" last night! Thanks for a recipe that I'll make often, Roxygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      I'm always looking for something different and exciting to serve our vegetarian friends. I tried this for dinner tonight and found it to be just that! I cooked 2 cups of large first, and a head of broccoli second because I was nervous about overcooking one for the sake of the other. I then drained the water so I could measure it. I only used 1/4 cup of butter because I have to count calories, but I didn't hold back on the parmesan. Taking PrincessMommy's advice, I used about a tablespoon of lemon juice and enjoyed this addition. Here's an unusual thing for me - (I love sauce), I didn't keep any of the water. Instead, I left the seeds in my tomatoes and found this made the dish plenty moist (laziness was my true motivation). The point of the matter - this was delightful. Thanks Roxygirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      This was really good and nice for a change! The only change that I made was to add the juice of one lemon to give it some added flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      I am amazed. This recipe got my BF to eat broccoli! I made a couple of changes: I also like my veggies crisp and added the very chopped broccoli just at the last couple of minutes of cooking the penne pasta that I used. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the butter along with 3TBS of minced red onions. I omitted the mushrooms because I didn't have any on hand. Thank you so much! Definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      I like my vegies crisp. So I did make some changes. While the pasta cooked I sauteed 4 cloves garlic, diced portabella mushrooms and Italian seasoning in 1/2 the amount of butter added the tomatoes then tossed in the cooked pasta using no water topping the cheese.Came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2005

    • on July 25, 2005

      This is a great change of pace dish for broccoli. We really enjoyed it. I could make a meal out of just this. Thanks for sharing, Roxygirl in Colorado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      This is a good recipe, and different from the usual broccoli dishes. If I make it again, I won't leave as much water for the sauce (the recipe doesn't tell how much to start with, only to drain 2/3 of it).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Siciliano

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.3
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    46%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 11.3 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 48.0 mg
    16%
    Sodium 281.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites