Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli, Sausage and Pasta Ears Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli, Sausage and Pasta Ears

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2009

      Loved this! My only problem was that I sliced the sausage a little too thick, so my broccoli cooked, but the sausage was not. No biggie, just pulled out the broc. until sausage was done. Also totally forgot the cayenne pepper, which disappointed me until my husband said how glad he was that it wasn't overly spice. Quick, Easy and and excellent dinner. I used penne instead of the orecchiette and am thinking of using turkey sausage next time to cut fat and calories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      This was very tasty -- the cayenne was just the right, peppery flavor. I used ground Italian sausage, instead of links, because I like it better. The buttery sauce and parmesan mixed well and tasted luxuriously rich with the farfalle and was nicely set off with the pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      Great recipe. Easy and fast to put together. Packed with flavor. I used hot Italian sausage because that's what I had on hand and omitted the cayenne pepper - delicious! I could see using broccoli rab instead of broccoli. I think the recipe is very adaptable and you could also substitute chicken, shrimp or other seafood, bacon or other good ham in place of the sausage. I noticed my husband took the leftovers for lunch today, so that really says it's good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I have made twice, and both times leftovers disappeared before morning. First time used a tin of beef broth and second time used a tin of chicken broth, we like the beef better. I did drain sausages before adding broth. Both times used frozen broccoli which really makes this a fast meal. This is a really easy meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Great recipe! Made it last week for dinner and my son is still asking for me to make it again and to make sure that there is enough for leftovers! I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Soo, Good! Love it! Easy to make and tastes great! I will add mushrooms and possibly tomatoes next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was fine; easy to do and very light. Flavor was pretty good. I'll keep it on hand when I have leftover sausage to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      My husband inhaled this dish! I made it with: whole wheat penne, red pepper flakes instead of cayenne, and added about 1/2 cup of sun-dried tomatoes. It made for a quick and pretty healthy weeknight dinner - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Very quick, very easy and very good! The only thing I did different was to add some mushrooms and I used medium shells. The boys loved it. Thanks! :}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      my husband and i love this dish. super simple to make and leftovers taste just as great. i use ground sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I make this at least 2x's a month now. We love it! I do partially cook the whole sausage link first so it is easier to slice down. Thanks for this easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      This is a great recipe. This is a family favorite. I usually use mini bow-tie pasta and used frozen broccoli that I steam in the microwave and then put in the bowl with the pasta and pour the meat sauce over. I usually double the sausage. I have used bulk sausage and links (which I remove the casings and chop). The leftovers always get eaten up. I never use the cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      amazzzzzzing!! Thank you!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I tried a dish just like this at a restaurant and was looking for a homemade version and this is it! My whole family loved this! I actually forgot the cayenne pepper so will try it with it next time. The only other change I made is that I added more cheese. I found the orecchiette at a specialty grocery but think that other pastas would work fine too. Thank you for posting this recipe! UPDATE: I have made this like four times and I have found that I prefer it without the cayenne and with 1 c of Italian Blend cheese. I have made it with a couple different noodles and it was just fine. The base recipe is so good that the type of noodles don't make a difference! This is a favorite in our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      Great, I forgot the cheese and smelling during cooking I thought it needed something else. So I added balsamic vinegar to it and it was wonderful. Thanks for post!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I used mushrooms instead of broccoli and this dish came out great. I wish I had used the broccoli so the dish would have been more colorful. Great sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      I use thin spaghetti, and LOVE IT!! This is so good, and easy! I also use Ecrkidge Smoked Sausage which would make a big difference... I've not tried what is said to use. I also put 3 cups of broth, to keep it moist in the pot. Mine is so good so good!! My picky 15mon and 2 1/2 yr old love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I used the orecchiette pasta, added 5 cloves of roasted garlic, added chopped onion and canned mushrooms. Per one reviewer, I added a mixture of flour and water for a thickner with the broccoli mixture. It is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Really nice recipe. I added some onion and mushrooms cause I needed to use them up. I must of not had enough broccoli chopped up or something cause 1c of broth was to much. The broccoli cooked to long it was mushy. Next time I will cut broth in half. Other than that it was good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      Awesome! I too used penne pasta. I subbed cauliflower for half the broccoli and kielbasa for the Italian sausage. The sauce wasn't reducing like I wanted so I threw in a little flour/water mixture with the cheese and it turned out fabulously! Will most definitely be making it again. Any recipe that gets a four year old to eat ALL the vegetables willingly has got to be a repeater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli, Sausage and Pasta Ears

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 983.3
     
    Calories from Fat 363
    36%
    Total Fat 40.3 g
    62%
    Saturated Fat 15.4 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 83.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 1855.2 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 106.5 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    38%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 49.1 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites