18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great salad. I used Olive oil-mayo instead of regular mayo, and it turned out great! I wondered if I would miss the cheese since I think cheese goes with everything, but I did not. Thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
techilady December 25, 2012

Wow, what a great recipe! I didn't have all the ingredients on hand and it was still great! Substituted almonds, cooking onion, mayo and apple cider vinegar. Can't wait to try it with all the correct ingredients!! Thanks for a new addition to my repertoire!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna's Mama June 27, 2011

Delicious, i added toasted almonds and Philly cream cheese - cooking cream........beautiful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janelouiselynch May 02, 2011

Very Yummy! Love the mix of apricot, pecans, onions, raisins and broccoli. Did change just a little by leaving out the Miracle whip and the bacon, but other wise made as written. Yes I just have to say it one more time Mmmm, Mmmm, Mmmm. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 04, 2009

I love broccoli salad, and this is no exception. This recipe was heavier on fruit than my normal broccoli salad, and had less dressing. Overall, it was delicious, and got 5 Stars from all diners. The only deviation I made was to use Vidalia Sweet Onions instead of the wonderfully colored purple onions...discovered mine was bad when I made the salad. Made for Potluck tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom July 27, 2009

This is just how I like my broccoli salad! I loved the fruity addition of apricots next to the raisins. I halved the recipe for my family of three tonight and have leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. Definitely one of the best broccoli salads that I have ever made. I used splenda and reduced fat miracle whip and mayo, which worked out perfectly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI January 31, 2009

When y'all add apricots & raisins to a salad, I'm ready to try it out, & THIS SALAD IS A WINNER, in taste, in prep time, EVERYTHING! Especially enjoyed the combo of the fruit & bacon! A keeper of a recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 23, 2008

Great salad!!! Made during ZWT3 when I was dying for something crunchy and green...this fit in with a picnic-themed supper perfectly. I am not familiar with "Miracle Whip" and to be honest have thought it WAS just a type of mayo until now (oops..I'm bad) - I used a bit of honey sweetened low-fat plain yogurt instead and liked the results just fine!!! I will make the effort to check out what "Miracle Whip" is about for the next time and there will most definitely be a next time!! I loved the tender sweet tart of the apricot and raisins with the crunch of the onion and toasted nuts. I also loved the fake bacon soy crisps with their touch of salt and the way that flavor played with the sweet and tart. Not a big mayo eater, but I really liked this...it was just a nice light touch that did not "mask" the great natural flavors at all...I skipped additional sweetener because I had already used that bit of honey - I thought it was the perfect balance of flavors!!! Thanks ~Nimz~!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 06, 2007

This is a very nice salad. I blanched the broccoli for 1 minute. I used mayo and sour cream instead of Miracle Whip.. I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins.Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susie cooks June 30, 2007

This was a very lovely salad with a nice flavor. The only change I made to the recipe was to use real crumbled bacon and the addition of some shredded cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess June 05, 2007
Broccoli Salad With Apricots