37 Reviews

Yum! This was absolutely delicious. I was skeptical about the bacon bits, but they made the salad taste soooo good! I blanched the broccoli for a few seconds before mixing up the salad and I used low fat mayo and it was perfect. Thanks!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jckamen June 20, 2002

WOW! I found this salad while looking for the recipe for the standard broccoli salad I usually make, and decided to try it on a whim since I had the ingreadients. The addition of mandarin oranges makes it goooooood! It is really a nice different touch. I used pecans like another reviewer, since that is what I had. Thanks for posting this keeper recipe, Meg. I will use it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi June 19, 2010

This recipe is much like the one I was going to post. Mine calls for 3/4 C mayonnaise, no mandarin oranges, and slivered almonds instead of walnuts. I know the recipe I have is great, so I'm going to try this one too. I was right, this is a great salad. I've made it a few times now, and we love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris Reynolds October 12, 2009

This is such a great salad. I took it to work and everyone wanted the recipe. You can vary the ingredients in many ways. I added cauliflower and used "Craisins" and sunflower seeds. Fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christlrose June 10, 2009

Great recipe! Simplicity lets the quality of the ingredients shine through. We use olive-oil mayonnaise, balsamic vinegar and freshly cooked bacon, then substitute slivered almonds for the walnuts and currants for the raisins. No mandarin oranges for us. Perfection, and even more so the next day! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Lauri~ May 09, 2009

Terrific! I made it for a family reunion and it was a huge hit. I used cashews instead of walnuts. I will try sunflower seeds next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lstangier August 03, 2008

I can't believe there aren'tany photos yet. This is such a colorful summer salad! I too blanched the broccoli which made it less chewy for a salad. Also used craisins as we don't really like raisins. This salad goes together so quickly its perfect for weeknights too. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyMomof3 September 18, 2013

This was wonderful, but I made a few changes. I used turkey bacon, sun flower seeds, craisins and per a previous reviewer's suggestion champagne vinegar. Everyone enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doc's Mom December 02, 2011

I am not a big broccoli eater, but this salad is awesome! I made it for a cookout and everyone wanted the recipe. This will definately be a favorite in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyhood3 May 02, 2010

This is so good I've made it twice in the past week. Both times I used both regular crumbled bacon (6 slices) and pecans instead of walnuts (I'm in the South). Fantastic! But what really kicked it over the edge for me was using champagne vinegar the second time. This is so fresh and delicious, I'll be making it forever. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarikat April 25, 2010
Broccoli Salad