9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

THE BEST!! Much better than store-bought. I have made several times, always comes out perfect. I add a couple handfuls of cashews (halved). Also, readers should know that the salad holds up really well for 2-3 days in the fridge. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dirty Bird November 14, 2008

This is my go-to for ANYTHING! It ALWAYS gets RAVE reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsjjkool December 26, 2013

This was a great salad. I used low-fat mayo, which worked just fine. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ January 13, 2008

I made this for my son's 3rd birthday party. What a success! My kids loved it. I have been looking for a broccoli salad recipe for a while, thank you for posting this. The only extra ingredient I added was honey roasted sunflower seeds...yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChezNicolette April 17, 2007

Miss Highcotton - I can't believe there were 181 other broccoli salads on 'zaar when you posted this version, because it is exactly the same version that I have used for years!! So what exactly are those other people making, because it isn't the right recipe in my opinion. If the readers have a "tried-and-true" cookbook file, this should be in it. The only thing I have changed over the years is to use LowFat Mayo instead. I don't notice much difference in flavor but my thighs appreciate the change!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva January 08, 2007

SusieD had told me how good this salad was so I gave it a try and it is wonderful! I did use a package of bacon bits instead of frying and crumbling the bacon but other than that followed the recipe exactly as written. The flavors meld together so well and the sweet/tart flavor with the broccoli, very good! Thank you highcotton for posting this recipe, will make it again soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 29, 2006

I adopted you as one of my chefs for Pick A Chef (spring '06) and am so happy I did after trying this salad. It is fantastic, no wonder your family insisted you post it! I loved the smoky flavor from the bacon. The salad has a slight sweetness and then the tart from the cranberries and vinegar. This will be a definite repeat. Thank you highcotton for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D November 19, 2006

I love this salad, but instead of making my own dressing, I use poppy seed dressing. I don't like raw broccoli, but I love this salad and so does my oldest son. He always asks for it when he comes home from school.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft June 29, 2005

"I'm gonna try it simply because you have the nerve to post it and because I love the idea of cranberries in it. Thanks for #181. Kerry

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThinOne June 29, 2005
Broccoli Salad #181