213 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My mother-in-law taught me to make this! And boy is it good. She adds raisens,apples,and chopped walnuts to it. I know that sounds strange but it is really good!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gabby1 October 06, 2001

Very good recipe. I found a 1 lb. bag of 'broccoli slaw' in the produce section so I used that instead of the 1 to 2 heads of broccoli. This is a good 'base' recipe to which you can add many things. I added seedless purple grapes and sliced almonds.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 01, 2002

I served this to a friend who doesn't like any vegetables and she absolutely loved it. How can you not like something with mayonnaise and sugar poured over it? I left out the cheese and added raisins and roasted sunflower seeds. YUM.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Haunani Thunell September 20, 2002

Everyone at my gathering adored this salad. I baked the bacon (a la Alton Brown, but not exactly because I couldn't remember how he did it), and used Deep South mayo. My mouth is watering anticipating my next batch - I plan to use *really good* bacon, great mozzarella, and homemade mayo. However, this is a recipe that holds up well to supermarket ingredients. Thank you for a great recipe, even for people who usually refuse to eat veggies!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch November 03, 2002

WOW! That was the first word out of my mouth after trying this. I reduced the mayo by about a third and replaced the sugar with Splenda with no problem. This is an excellent recipe that I will be making again - - very soon!! Thank you!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vverkin925 September 09, 2002

This salad is soooooo good. I do not normally like raw broccoli. Add raw cauliflower(sp) and this salad becomes even better.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sara-Texas July 11, 2002

A most delicious salad. My husband, who is not a big fan of broccoli even loved it. I think it is the bacon that gives it such great flavor. Thanks for sharing this and I plan on making it again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gretchengr December 18, 2002

After all these great reviews, I just HAD to try this salad..and I am SOOOO glad that I did!! I substituted cheddar cheese for the mozzarella, and added a bit of salt and pepper. It was a HUGE hit, even among the so-called "veggie haters". Next time I might add some cauliflower too, just to add some different textures. Thanks so much for this recipe!!:) ~Manda

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda November 23, 2002

This was so good I couldn't stop eating it. I didnt have any vinegar so I used red wine vinegar instead.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DT November 11, 2002

Fabulous, just fabulous!!! I made this the night before our big family bonanza get-together. The bacon and onion flavor was a great compliment with the broccoli. This was the first salad to disappear and recipe requests were abundant. Thanks vincy, this is one terrific salad.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laylagirl October 05, 2002
Broccoli Salad