8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great and I will make it again. I had leftover rice and a big bunch of broccoli to use up. I was looking for something to serve with my pork roast and this was perfect. I used butter instead of margarine, full fat cheddar, and light mayonnaise. I sprinkled a bit of cheese on top instead of the melba toast. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MagsMeals October 04, 2009

Very good dish. I made it as posted except I did not use any low fat ingredients; the broccoli was garden fresh. Used panko crumbs for the topping. I chose this recipe because it is one of the few broccoli-rice casseroles that does not use any canned creamed soup. I definitely will make this again. Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy228 July 13, 2009

Excellent dish. Very tasty and healthy. Next time, I might even try to add some chicken or turkey to add a little protein to it as well. Thanks for the recipe. It was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WABT September 15, 2008

Made for Zingo ZWT4 – Like Sharon, did I only make the recipe for 2, else made exactly as recipe said. Great flavor. I was afraid the broccoli would get to mushy, but had nice texture still. Thanks Shari.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Benthe (Danish) July 10, 2008

This had great flavor, used the ingredients listed. My family enjoyed this casserole. Goes great as a side dish or can be a meal on its own. Thank You. Made for ZWT 4--Zingo The Mamma Mias!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MomLuvs6 July 08, 2008

Yet another great way to serve broccoli! Followed your recipe & ingredients for the most part, although I did add a bit more dry mustard than called for! Enjoyed the toast topping, & I think another I might crisp-toast some winter wheat bread & crush that up for a topping! Thanks for posting! [Made & reviewed in the Family Picks part of Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 08, 2008

Definitely a 5 star!! Perfectly delicious, Shari2. Easy,healthy, and attractive. Love the crunchy gratin topping! I used arborio instead of long grain b/c I did not have long grain and that was the only change I made. We enjoyed the hint of mayonnaise. This would be easy to assemble ahead, refrigerate, and then put into the oven. You could also say that it might be a leftover type recipe with the cooked rice. I served ours with Prosciutto, Spinach, and Egg Pies so it was a very nice oven meal and while it was baking, we had a glass of chardonnay. Made for ZWT4 the Flying Dutchess'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 05, 2008

Very nice! I used long grain brown rice, broccoli fresh out of the garden, and crushed butter crackers instead of melba toast. I also halved the recipe for my DH and myself. Thank you Shari! Made for ZWT and the Fancy Feinshcmeckers!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 03, 2008
Broccoli-Rice Casserole