9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful stir-fry vegetable recipe. I used half shiitake mushrooms and half white mushrooms. The thyme and onion flavors were strong and went very well with the broccoli and mushrooms. I served with grilled burgers and grilled corn.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FaithB25 March 04, 2003

This really is a great combination! Very, very easy to make and much more elegant than plain ol' broccoli, our usual stand-by. The thyme was a great addition, really added tremendous flavor. A full pound of Shitake mushrooms were a bit pricy, so I substituted half Shitakes and half button mushrooms to please both my tastebuds and my pocketbook. (Hmmm, portabellas, Sharon? I'll definitely try that one!) Thanks, Beth - we may never have plain broccoli again.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie January 07, 2003

BF said, "This is the best broccoli I've ever had!" I used fresh white mushrooms and frozen broccoli and did add a bit of garlic. TY BethT!!!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE April 06, 2003

I cook broccoli mostly because I love it and my hubby eats it because he knows it's good for him. But he has never really LIKED it...until now! The mushroom and thyme flavors mixed in made this a very appealing dish! The Parmesan topped it off just right. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out fantastic! Thanks Beth, this will be repeated!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz January 30, 2003

Beth, I love broccoli and mushrooms and this is a great way to cook them! I did cook the broccoli a little longer, and did add a little more margarine.I used baby portabellas and it turned out yummy. Thanks!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 26, 2002

Simple, easy, fast...delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joygi March 07, 2003

This is a fabulous dish. I am not usually a huge fan of mushrooms, however I really enjoyed them in this recipe. I too had to cook my broccoli a little longer as I like it a bit softer than most (NOT MUSHY THOUGH!! lol). The thyme, pepper and parm really add great flavor to this dish. Thanks for the recipe :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary August 22, 2003

I'm a big broccoli fan, and I love mushrooms... but this did not go over well with my family. It didn't get finished and everyone was adding salt to it for more flavor and no one liked the parmesan on it. I didn't change anything in the recipe and after seeing the other reviews I had high hopes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow July 12, 2003

I was all out of onions, so I just omitted them--wasn't bad, but I think it would have been better with. I also didn't use the parmesan. For mushrooms I used chunked portabellos. Nice combination of flavors and textures!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theodwyn August 20, 2009
Broccoli & Mushroom Stir-Fry