10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband really liked this and said that it was better the next day reheated for his lunch. I thought that it was ok -- perhaps I just didn't care for the swiss cheese flavor of the sauce. If I tried this again, I think that I would use a different kind of cheese in the sauce -- maybe some more cheddar. Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Desperate_Housewife April 06, 2004

Delicious! My kids loved this meal so much. I'm not a huge ham person, which is why I gave this 4 stars instead of five. If you love ham, this would be a five star recipe! I guess I could probably substitute any other meat . . . I also used canelloni shells instead.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Monica* March 21, 2004

This is very tasty and different. I like finding new ways to use leftover ham. I put my ham through the meatgrinder, along with the broccoli. I increased proportions to fill 14 shells, and increased the cream sauce to 3 cups. I used skim milk to cut a little fat. Very good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess January 22, 2004

I thought this was a really great dish! Instead of being spiced up, it's just simple ingredients that go great together! It doesn't take as long to prepare as I thought, but I may toss it all with rotini next time like a casserole to make it even faster. My box of manicotti had 14, so I just made them all instead of having 4 leftover. I had enough mixture to loosely fill them all, but I could have used more cheese sauce. It's not fine cuisine, but it's a great family dish and very kid-friendly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
danette.astolfi February 25, 2008

This was pretty good...there was just a texture thing that we did not care for. I don't know what it was. The kids liked it ok too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping October 07, 2006

Thanks Pamela! I added a couple drops of tabasco sauce to the cheese sauce. Really yummy. A different pasta dinner without all the tomato sauce. We will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLYing4Me May 09, 2006

This was very good. I used a combination of cheddar and monterey jack for the filling because I thought cheddar alone would be too strong for us. It was good with the swiss but I might try it with a different cheese sauce next time just to compare. Everyone enjoyed this, thank you Pamela!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes February 10, 2006

My kids loved it! My mom was here when I made them and she sampled one and asked me for the recipe. I used the 1 cup swiss and 1 cup cheddar just as the recipe states.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* May 03, 2005

Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I have to say the combination flavor of the minced broccoli/ham is great. I slightly steamed the broccoli before chopping. I used gruyere cheese in the sauce, since that's what I had. I covered the top with foil, which I do with most all casseroles. This was a super recipe to use up my Christmas ham. Roxygirl in Colo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado December 29, 2004

We both liked this, but thought it needed a "little something" to jazz it up a bit. Maybe some mushrooms and a few extra spices. Also, the cheesy sauce started to burn a bit on top so I had to cover it with foil for the last few minutes. It was very easy to make, which was a definite plus, especially because I used manicotti that didn't have to be boiled beforehand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville May 07, 2004
Broccoli, Ham and Cheese Manicotti