11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What can I say "Chesse and Broccoli" ..... They just go together so well, and this recipe is no exception. Lovely sauce and toasty breadcrumbs, just make this wonderful.
This made for a lovely side dish for our roast.
Thanks loof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme December 31, 2012

We found the sauce so thick it was distracting and all we could taste. I think next time I'll make a thinner white sauce and add a bit more cheese. Thanks loof! Made for ZWT8 trip to France.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buzymomof3 July 30, 2012

So good and so easy to make! I made 1/2 the recipe since I am the only one who eats broccoli. I liked that it was not soupy and the broccoli didn't get mushy. Was a nice change from steamed or sauteed broccoli. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH July 29, 2012

Wonderful and so easy to make. I made this as written and would not change a thing about it. Thanks loof for a great side dish. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 30, 2009

A wonderful, easy variation on broccoli. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. January 27, 2008

Delicious! I used the Green Giant Steam in a Bag Broccoli Cuts. The texture came out perfect and very cheesy. I would add more spices next time, maybe more salt and pepper and some cayenne and garlic...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma December 02, 2007

Definitely worthy of 5 stars as it got my son to eat a cooked green vegetable! We all really enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 20, 2007

I used less salt and instead of the cheddar cheese I used a shredded pizza blend that I had in the fridge. I've been asked to make it again! Thanks for the keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rotts4me October 23, 2007

My BF and I love broccoli...especially his mother's broccoli casserole, so this recipe looked great...especially since there was no canned condensed soup in it! I used organic 2% milk instead of the whole and the sauce still turned out so rich and creamy. I loved the ground nutmeg in the sauce ( please grate the nutmeg yourself... it makes a huge difference!) The 1 1/2 tsp of salt seemed a little much to me... but I added it anyway. It was quite salty to me and my BF (and he really likes to salt his food) so next time, I will cut it back to only 1/2 tsp. I will also steam my broccoli for about 3 minutes next time, since it turned out a little on the soft side for us... not mushy but we like our broccoli a little crunchy. I topped it off with a sprinkling of panko breadcrumbs and then sprayed it with a little olive oil for a little crunch. The two of us polished off the whole thing in record time! It was really that good... Thanks you so much for posting a keeper!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl September 18, 2007
Broccoli Gratin