20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for dinner tonight to go along with our roast chicken. I thoroughly enjoyed it however; the sauce received mixed reviews from the other family members who were home for the night. DH did not care for it at all, oldest daughter thought it was very good, and my son said he would eat it again but he prefers his broccoli with just grated cheese on top. I will tuck this recipe aside for serving when company comes as I enjoy fixing things out of the ordinary. Made and reviewed for the Oct. 2011 AUS/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate October 10, 2011

A nice new way to prepare broccoli. I added the lemon but not the sugar and kept the sauce on the side so we could dunk the steamed broccoli right in it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 07, 2010

Thanks so much for posting a different and very good way to eat broccoli. I have for years veered away from white sauces as was hit or miss for me when I made them but since I learned how to do in microwave they come out perfect every time so really enjoyed making it as knew it would turn out just right. Flavors melded together quite nicely and nothing overpowered anything else. Daughter announced it was a keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Modmom50 December 01, 2009

This was really yummy. We enjoyed the Dijon mustard flavor. Thanks for giving us a different an unusual broccoli dish to try. :) Served it with Honey-Dijon Chicken and Lemon-Lime Rice

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas September 01, 2009

Very nice quick and simple side dish. We had tonight with Dijon Crumb Chicken (I ended up adding some of the sauce to the chicken and it was wonderful). The Dijon sauce is mild and creamy without being overpowering. I didn't have any lemon, so I didn't add it, I also left the sugar out simply because I forgot, but I don't think it was needed at all. I will be making this again and plan to add it to the standard broccoli rotation since we eat it at least 1-2 times a week anyways.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity June 24, 2009

We loved this recipe. Halved it with no problem and used broccoli rabe instead of regular broccoli. It worked out great. Loved the mustard sauce. Watch it carefully so it does not dry out. We will make this again for sure. Served with Brie Topped Dijon Chicken Breasts 168266. Thanks! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny June 05, 2009

Yep, the sauce makes the dish - and this one's delicious. I used a 1/2 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup creme fraiche, and fleur de sel in place of regular salt. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 04, 2009

This review is for the sauce, because let's face it, the sauce is the star of this recipe! The 5 stars, in fact! :) This sauce was so good. DH dipped his Herbed Rice Puffs in it, and I declared that it would be good on just about anything. To test this theory, I added a dab into the middle of my ham and cheddar omelet this morning - Delish! This is going to be one of my new go-to sauces. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT5, for the Groovy GastroGnomes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout May 29, 2009

This was an interesting take on the usual sauces that accompany green veggies. I found the lemon juice to be a bit much so I will leave it out next time like you suggested. Thanks Vickie! Made for ZWT 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slim PA May 28, 2009
Broccoli Dijon