Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Dal Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Dal Curry

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2007

      We love this recipe and make it quite regularly. Instead of using butter or ghee I generally use 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil, or margarine. I have substituted 2 teaspoons of garam masala for the black pepper and chili powder, and added a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne. I too use 4 cups of water, and don't bother adding any flour. We prefer to omit the coconut and the added salt, but include the cashews. Thanks for posting such a delcious and healthy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      Delicious recipe! I really enjoyed this for dinner last night. I served with the basmati, but I think next time I would serve without. I used No Chicken Broth (vegetarian chicken broth substitute) and this worked fine, as well as the optional coconut and cashews. I did not change the spice combinations. I especially loved the broccoli in this dish. I would have this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2013

      I really like this broccoli is this which I was initially skeptical about. It wasn't quite as an intense flavor as I as hoping for but that might of been because of the broth I used. Regardless, enjoyed by both of us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Wow! Easy and delicious. I didn't even have the right spices (my husband used all the Chili Pwd yesterday). It's still awesome and double helping awesome! I used Gram Marsala in place of Chili Pwd -- didn't use Turmeric either. Served without the rice -- rice spikes blood sugar too much so I rarely use it. Thank you for this recipe, it's so gratifying to find a staple like this, make a big batch and eat from it all week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      Easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      this came out pretty good.. i ended up using veggie oil and next time will use only 1 T as 4 just seemed too much.. i only used one onion and i halved the turmeric, but will quarter it next time as i'm not a huge fan.. didnt have lemon so i had to use limes.. broccoli could have been cooked longer.. and i didnt see too much of a point w the flour.. consistency was already there.. all in all it was a good recipe.. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Seems that I'm the only one, but I thought this was just okay. The cooking time was fine for me, but I used red lentils, which cook faster than brown. My main issue with this was that the amount of spices added made it very grainy, and at the same time, I did not find it to be as flavorful as the previous reviewers. But perhaps this was my fault, since everyone else has had lovely results. One thing I can definitely say though, mine looked EXACTLY like the photo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      Super yum! I used veggie broth and no cashews (only because I didn't have them). Thanks for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      This was so good and flavorful. I used two large heads of broccoli (I assumed that's what you meant), cut the pepper back to 3/4 tsp, and omitted the coconut flakes and cashews. Otherwise followed the recipe on down. Served over jasmine rice and with Mango Lassi(es). A very satisfying Indian dish, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Very good. I used a little more liquid and instead of broccolli, in a skillet I sauteed fresh asparagus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Yummy yummy dal. I used Toovar dal since my red lentils went bad. I made it healthier by adding olive oil, and didn't use cashews since i didn't have any. I was really nervous in the beginning. Also with tovar dal i precooked in a presure cooker since i wanted to cook it faster. I didn't use any additional broth or water and it turned out perfect. I love it. Thanks for the lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Even my husband liked this one! The only changes I made were to add a little less pepper and when my lentils were cooking and I needed to add liquid, I added half a can of coconut milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      This instantly became the new favorite curry dish in my house! The only thing I changed was that I used cayenne instead of chili powder for an extra kick. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I used red beans instead of lentils and olive oil instead of butter, doubled the flour and used only 1 1/3 cup veggie broth. We served this over the "Indian Spiced Rice" recipe found here, and the two were a wonderful complement. I loved the flavors in this, and will be making it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Very good! I didn't add the broccoli in, it was so good when I tasted it, I didn't want to wait to steam it!! Served with basmati and some yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      Excellent recipe! This is one of the better indian recipes i've made - it was the surprise hit of my meal.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      This was so good! I followed the recipe as written, except that I used 2 tb. butter instead of 4. I left out the optional ingredients, just because of the added calories and fat (I bet they're really good in this, though). I served this with rice and flatbread. This is very flavorful and a bit spicy...just the right amount, I think. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Excellent! I only used 1 T butter and one large onion. I added 4 cups of chicken brother, and that was plenty. I used 1/2 cup of coconut, but I couldn't really taste it. Maybe it would stand out more if it was added at the end of the cooking. I also added several cups of arugula just before serving that I wanted to use up - made the curry taste even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Very good. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This was delicious. After reading the other reviews and due to ingredient shortages, I sauteed the onions with the butter and 2 generous tbsp. of hot curry powder from a local ethnic store, a couple dashes of chili powder and a pinch cayenne. After adding the 3 c. broth and lentils, I simmered the lentils covered for about 25 minutes until they were nearly cooked through, then let them simmer uncovered for another 25 (until tender). I did a taste test at this point and found it to be great even without the broccoli. I only had frozen broccoli on hand which wasn't ideal but still added to the flavor. The consistency was fine without adding the flour, making me think you could get away with about half the butter. My wife called it a keeper despite being overfed lentils as a youngster.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Dal Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (669 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 445.0
     
    Calories from Fat 138
    31%
    Total Fat 15.3 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1362.3 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 15.1 g
    60%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 25.7 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites