Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Squares

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Barabra, I just this minute took this recipe out of the oven and wanted to come right away to let you know just how wonderful this broccoli is! It is so rich and cheesey and delicious! The broccoli is just the right texture balanced with the right amount of cheese! I followed your directions to the letter for excellent results! I wouldn't change a thing! Thank you, Barbara, for a great new recipe that I know I will be using time and time again in this house of broccoli lovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      I have been making these with spinach(2 boxes of chopped spinach) for years. I only use 1 8oz block of cheddar cheese and then add about 1/4c of parmesan cheese. I like the flavor of the squares with the broccoli much better. My 3 year old will eat them either way. I usually cut the leftovers into squares and freeze them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This wasn't bad, but it wasn't a square for me. It fell apart as I was taking it out from the pan and looked a little sad on the platter, laying in chunks like that. It tasted fine but I think I would put it in a smaller pan so that it was thicker and more square-like. I followed the recipe to a 't', but it just didn't work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This came out wonderful. I dotted the top with butter before I baked it, and baked it until it was evenly browned on the top. This is just the right balance of bread/cheese "matrix' and broccoli - not overly bready and not overly vegetable-y. I will save this and make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I changed some things: didn't use the butter because I lined the pan with baking paper, used approx. 2/3 onion because they needed to be used up, used fresh broccoli, didn't have seasoning salt so I sprinkled some dried basil and parsley. It was great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      This has a great taste--nice combination of broccoli and cheese. Used sharp cheddar. Easy to put together, and I'll make again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      this tastes wonderful. i used fresh broccoli-chopped up small. i also halved the recipe and used a litle less cheaddar cheese ( ran out) ans this came out great thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      I made this for my 6y/o dd this morning. She said they were good but didn't seem real impressed with them. I thought they tasted good but would have been better if I'd had cheddar. I used velveeta so I think next time cheddar will be better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Just took this to a Christmas potluck and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      This was pretty good. I'm not a broccoli eater but even I liked it. DD (5) gobbled it up and did not give me any grief about eating it but DS thought it smelled "bad" but thought it tasted good... go figure. DH went back for a big piece of seconds. I told my kids it was called "Surprise Delight" because if I told them the real name they wouldn't have touched it. I halved the recipe and sprinkled Morton's "Nature's Seasons" in the egg mixture as well as on top. I'd like to try adding crumbled bacon next time. Thanks for a good recipe... this one is a keeper. UPDATE: Made this again last night after my son requested it. Both my almost 8 y.o daughter and 11 year old son had seconds. I used a blend of Jack and Cheddar cheeses and added seasoning salt (omitting the 1 tsp of salt called for in the recipe). I topped with french fried onions. Definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2004

      Thank you so much for this recipe!! My mom made these years ago and I've always loved them. She has since lost the recipe and I was so excited to find it. I love that it is not so eggy--you can really taste the broccoli and cheese. I added a little Parmesan as well. made it for dinner last night with a big salad....yum! Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2004

      I tried to halve this before realising that it called for 3 eggs (I used 2). I also got a bit flustered and I believe I might have used only 1/4 of the cheese! I was a little nervous about the seasoned salt, but I used it anyway and thought it was just right. Although one taster didn't like this (couldn't tell me why), I will make it again, and be sure to use enough cheese, since I love cheese. It did work fine with the 2 eggs, and wasn't overly "eggy."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      I have a one year old that I am having a hard time getting all the veggies and dairy into his diet but this was a great recipe for that, he loved it and it was soo easy for him to eat. I also put more onions in it. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe! It was a big hit in my family and was easy enough for even an unexperienced cook like me to make! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2003

      I thought these were very good and I couldn't stop eating them. I would definetely make them again. Would be good with toasted pine nuts on top or even in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2003

      Barbara, if I could leave 10 stars, I really would. I enjoyed this so much. I served it as a veggie meal, (just served a little more than just for a side dish). I only did two things a little different. 1) I added more onion hehe, and 2) instead of sprinkling with season salt I sprinkled the top very lightly with onion salt, garlic salt, and lots of black pepper. This was a marvelous dinner. I cant wait to eat leftovers! Thanks barb! Will be looking forward to trying many more of your recipes :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (107 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.2
     
    Calories from Fat 157
    60%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 96.5 mg
    32%
    Sodium 522.6 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites