Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese Soup for the Crock Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Soup for the Crock Pot

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2009

      This is awesome.. Turn off the crock about 30 minutes before serving, and it thickens up really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      I made this recipe for dinner last night with a few changes and it was fantastic. First I decided to not use the crock pot because I thought that was what was making it weird and curdle. Second I used red and yellow peppers just because I didn't have a green one. I also added a little black pepper and garlic powder. I mixed the milk and the soup with a whisk until smooth before adding it to the soup pot. I waited until the soup was hot before adding the cheese and stirred constantly until all the cheese had melted. AGAIN, FANTASTIC!!! I will use it again omitting the broccoli and adding potatoes for a potato cheese soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      I whipped this up for supper because I was craving it! I doubled it instantly and added just a bit more milk.and some fresh cracked black pepper.. it was AMAZING!! I did it on the stove top and done in no time... Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      I made this for a family get together. Wasn't sure if everyone would like the broccoli, so I made some adjustments, and it was a hit! Added no broccoli and instead added 3 large potatoes, peeled cubed and par boiled, and 2 lbs of cubed ham. Started the potatoe prep first so by the time everything else was ready, the potatoes were ready to be drained and added.

      Husband liked it so much that we bought the ingredients and made it at home for just us....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      I tried this recipe yesterday and loved it :) I doubled everything but the broccoli and added diced potatoes... previous posts are right though that this isnt something to throw in and leave, I whisked the soap and milk together first, let it get warm in the crock-pot then added the cheese, whisking it every half hour or so till it was well blended, I did also add a little extra milk and some garlic powder.... It is a little work, but totally worth it :) Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Mine also turned out weird and curdle-y... I don't think this is a recipe to throw in and forget - I'm guessing it should be watched and cooked on Low for less time... And although the recipe seems like it would be, it doesn't taste that great... Wouldn't recommend

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      I cooked it on low for 3 1/2 hours and it turned out weird and curdle-y....maybe I cooked it too long?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      This was very good, considering how easy it was to make. I used reduced fat versions of the dairy products. The Velveeta thickened the soup just right. This is a great soup to throw in the crockpot on a busy day and come back later to a warm, cheesey soup. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      Good soup, even my picky eater enjoyed it. I read several reviews complaining of curdling. I did not have any problems with curdling and I had it on low for 4 hours. I used whole milk in the recipe and after researching and reading the info below, I think that may be the "magic bullet" for a failsafe soup. I give it 4 stars because it's speedy quick & easy and popular with the kids. I don't give it 5 because there is enough "processed food" in it to not taste homemade to me, but a good recipe for a busy afternoon :).<br/><br/>ochef.com has this to say:<br/>Given the right circumstances, any milk or cream product will curdle (a process in which the curd protein, casein, coagulates and forms clumps). Acid, heat, and salt are the antagonists, all of which cause curdling. The milk has only one defense mechanism, which you don't want to hear about ? fat. The more fat it contains (and the fresher it is), the less likely it is to curdle. There is a dramatic difference in the ability of heavy cream vs. light cream to resist curdling. To bring skim milk into the equation is almost asking it to curdle.<br/><br/>But all may not be lost. Your best bet is to prepare the soup without the milk (assuming the base is a stock and not the milk itself), and add the milk at the end of the cooking process. Then make sure not to heat it at all or for long, and don't let it get above 180?F. Also, add any salt just before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      This was really good. My DH, who doesn't eat cooked broccoli had two dishes and said - this is good. Believe me that is ten stars coming from him. Mine curdled a little too, don't know why unless I simmered it on too high a heat, but didn't affect the taste at all. I also made this on the stove. I will be making this again and again. May add chedder cheese soup in place of the velveeta sometime.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Enjoyed this a lot! I did change a couple of things like using low fat milk, (not skim), low fat Velveeta, and extra broccoli with cauliflower (had this in the fridge) also adding the addition of a teaspoon of Tabasco with minced jalapeno instead of green pepper. This is a great recipe that turned out beautifully! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      just made this and loved it super easy :) I just put the green peppers / onions and butter all int he pot with everything else worked just fine. Also added alittle more milk , some pepper , garlic powder , small cubed potatoes and 6 chopped up slices of cooked bacon. I was home while cooking so I did stir it about every 20-30min and it turned out creamy and smooth will defently do this again great crock.pot meal and very easy to make I only gave 4 stars because I do believe you have to be home to stir this for it to turn out propperly not a sit and leave meal IMO

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      Well, my soup certainly did not look like the photo. It was really curdled looking. Taste was not bad I guess. I did add garlic powder and black pepper. I tried to remedy the curdle with milk but no luck.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I found this soup easy and delicious. I used broccoli florets, which I chopped slightly. I did add a little extra milk and pepper. I don't know how it could curdle with Velveeta. I stirred the milk into the cream of chicken until blended, and then I kept stirring occasionally until the Velveeta melted. This would probably be good with some cubed potatoes! Highly recommend!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2014

      Made this for "Meatless Monday" dinner tonight. Doubled everything in the recipe so we'd have more, but used only one can of cream of chicken. It turned out perfectly. I used whole milk (on another reviewer's suggestion that it helps it to not curdle), didn't add any seasoning, and stirred it every 20-30 minutes. I set and reset my oven's timer to remind myself to STIR! We actually ate it after it had been in the Crock Pot only 2.5 hours and I turned it off right before 3 hours. It was creamy and yummy and super easy. No salt is needed after you put it in your bowl since the Velveeta is salty enough. I didn't even use pepper or anything since the sauteed onions and peppers added a lot of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      Pretty good, I made this on the stove-top, just because I didn't have the extra time, but might try later in a crockpot. VERY Cheesy. Could double the cream of chicken and milk and still use the 1lb of Velveeta and still be good. The family liked the cheesy-ness, but it was just a little to much for me. We also like broccoli so I used a 16oz bag in place of the 10oz as well as added a bit of garlic powder, pepper and a dash of nutmeg. Think the broccoli would have broken down a lot more in the crock-pot so i'll definitely try that next time =) All in all pretty good, with minor adjustments (mainly seasoning)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      Like many others I had to stir about every 30 min. I also added a 10 oz can of cheddar cheese soup, little more milk and black pepper and garlic pwr. If you stir it on occasion it will not curdle. Keeper for me w/ the additions mentioned.<br/><br/>Think next time I will add a tbl of Crystle's, Sriracha or Franks Hot Sauce near the end of the cooking time. Tobasco is no longer in our house. They just got passed by with so many other great hot sauces on the market today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      I made this following the recipe exactly and it was AMAZING!!! Without a doubt, I'll be making this again. I did stir it occasionally, which wasn't in the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      This recipe had a lot of potential, but just didn't work out. It CURDLED (just before 2 hrs). Uggh. I ate a little bit on top of some noodles, and it was edible, but looking at the curds I was disgusted and threw the whole remainder out. I had followed the directions exactly, with the crock pot set on low, so I don't know what went wrong. I definitely won't try this again. It might work on a stovetop rather than a crockpot. But I won't be trying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2012

      Tastes too much like Velvetta...needs to be balanced with other cheeses. I will try another recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Soup for the Crock Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 542.8
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    63%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 23.1 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 123.3 mg
    41%
    Sodium 2290.3 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 11.7 g
    46%
    Protein 25.3 g
    50%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites