Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli & Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli & Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    72 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 72

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2002

      Woweee!!!! This was SO, SO, SO good!!!! I have been wanting a good recipe for this soup and my search is over! Sue, I never heard of steaming the broccoli first but it sure did preserve the BRIGHT green of the broccoli and made it look so much more appetizing than the gray-green color it fades to after extended cooking. I followed the recipe exactly except for the addition of about 1/4 c. of diced ham that I needed to use up. Next time I will double the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2002

      Yum! I Did not see a specification for the amount of celery, so I used 1/4 cup, finely chopped. I also added some cubed ham when I added the broccoli. Served it with a loaf of french bread. Wonderful! [Editor's Note: recipe was edited as a result of this comment 12/17/02]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Love it. Tastes as good, if not better then restaurants. I like to add shredded carrots (and sometimes shredded cabbage) as well. I also use 1/2 the salt and double the pepper using black. I use fresh broccoli and find that it retains its bright green color after 1hr of cooking/cooling. If i lack time, steaming first while the rest cooks will be my go-to method. Using 2 cups of broth and 1 1/2 cups of milk still give it a great rich flavor and thickness, while cutting out a little of the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Straightforward, simple and tasty. I doubled the ingredients. Following some other reviews, I substituted a little shaved carrot for the celery and used half 2% milk and half light cream. I also pureed the thickened mixture before adding the broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      i didn't have any celery but i added two big garlic cloves to the onions. used only 2 cups of 1% milk and that was plenty. the broth became a cup of water and a broth cube. added a bit of dill too. i found this only made 2 meal-sized bowls. would have made 4 side-dish-sized cups. this was very easy and wonderful comfort food. will certainly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2004

      Wonderful! A top 10 for comfort food.This recipe is simple and easy to follow. I doubled it,added 2T of worcestershire(at the end)& used SHARP wisconsin cheddar and served the soup in crusty bread bowls...my kids ate it up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Was looking for a good recipe to make broccoli and cheese soup for the first time, this is it!! It was easy to make but more importantly tasted amazing. I added an extra cup of chicken broth and found the consistency perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Very good! This was exactly what I was looking for and was surprisingly filling. I followed the recipe exactly, including the steaming and cooling of the broccoli. Flavors blended very well without the gritty texture of other broccoli and cheese soups. Thanks for a delicious, comfort soup Sue Lau!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      This was quite tasty and super easy to make. We have some very sick peoples in this house so a warm bowl of soup is what I made. I did use my hand blender to cut up the onions, carrots (I added it), and celery. The soup was very creamy and hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      I think I have found a great basic cream of whatever recipe! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      This was ok but for me, something was missing. I would also prefer more broccoli in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      This soup is great and a keeper for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

    • on May 06, 2012

      A great soup! Stayed mostly true to the recipe but added some real bacon bits and more cheese. Plus I used old cheddar. Will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2012

    • on January 15, 2012

      Thank you for this recipe Sue. I love it. I particularly like that is does not include canned soup or velveeta. I used fresh broccoli, chopped, then steamed in the microwave. I also added carrots to the celery and onion. It is a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      This was a great recipe! I boiled the broccoli before I added it to the soup, but not for very long. The color remained a bright green as well. Next time I try this, I will have to add more things like maybe some shredded carrot or ham!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2011

    • on March 29, 2011

      Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Very yummy simple recipe that didnt include Velveeta for once! I cant wait to make it again and try adding things to it :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli & Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 247.9
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    65%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 34.0 mg
    11%
    Sodium 781.1 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites