72 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Woweee!!!! This was SO, SO, SO good!!!! I have been wanting a good recipe for this soup and my search is over! Sue, I never heard of steaming the broccoli first but it sure did preserve the BRIGHT green of the broccoli and made it look so much more appetizing than the gray-green color it fades to after extended cooking. I followed the recipe exactly except for the addition of about 1/4 c. of diced ham that I needed to use up. Next time I will double the recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TiaGem October 21, 2002

Yum! I Did not see a specification for the amount of celery, so I used 1/4 cup, finely chopped. I also added some cubed ham when I added the broccoli. Served it with a loaf of french bread. Wonderful! [Editor's Note: recipe was edited as a result of this comment 12/17/02]

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick December 02, 2002

Love it. Tastes as good, if not better then restaurants. I like to add shredded carrots (and sometimes shredded cabbage) as well. I also use 1/2 the salt and double the pepper using black. I use fresh broccoli and find that it retains its bright green color after 1hr of cooking/cooling. If i lack time, steaming first while the rest cooks will be my go-to method. Using 2 cups of broth and 1 1/2 cups of milk still give it a great rich flavor and thickness, while cutting out a little of the fat.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elektrofire April 04, 2011

Straightforward, simple and tasty. I doubled the ingredients. Following some other reviews, I substituted a little shaved carrot for the celery and used half 2% milk and half light cream. I also pureed the thickened mixture before adding the broccoli.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HopeJohnJP October 01, 2010

i didn't have any celery but i added two big garlic cloves to the onions. used only 2 cups of 1% milk and that was plenty. the broth became a cup of water and a broth cube. added a bit of dill too. i found this only made 2 meal-sized bowls. would have made 4 side-dish-sized cups. this was very easy and wonderful comfort food. will certainly make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto November 14, 2010

Wonderful! A top 10 for comfort food.This recipe is simple and easy to follow. I doubled it,added 2T of worcestershire(at the end)& used SHARP wisconsin cheddar and served the soup in crusty bread bowls...my kids ate it up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santi Kogerman January 17, 2004

Was looking for a good recipe to make broccoli and cheese soup for the first time, this is it!! It was easy to make but more importantly tasted amazing. I added an extra cup of chicken broth and found the consistency perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ali_a February 09, 2014

Very good! This was exactly what I was looking for and was surprisingly filling. I followed the recipe exactly, including the steaming and cooling of the broccoli. Flavors blended very well without the gritty texture of other broccoli and cheese soups. Thanks for a delicious, comfort soup Sue Lau!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Travis H. December 22, 2013

This was quite tasty and super easy to make. We have some very sick peoples in this house so a warm bowl of soup is what I made. I did use my hand blender to cut up the onions, carrots (I added it), and celery. The soup was very creamy and hearty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TeacherLaLa December 20, 2013

I think I have found a great basic cream of whatever recipe! Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LESLEY KARRAS April 14, 2013
Broccoli & Cheese Soup