Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese Soup - 20 Minute fast and low fat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Soup - 20 Minute fast and low fat

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2011

      Yummy! Quick and easy. Like many others, I used what I had on hand versus going to the store. I used a sweet onion instead of shallots and a mix of low fat sharp cheddar cheeses. We usually only eat fat free cheese but anyone who has tried to melt fat free cheese knows it just wont work. Fat free cheese "melts" into a plastic like mess. It's just no good. Anyway, this recipe is really good. Used chicken bouillon to make my broth. Very tasty, fast and low fat!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      I have made this recipe a few times but am only getting around to reviewing it now. This is simply wonderful. the only thing I do differently is that I NUKE the broccoli until it is mush. I prefer a very creamy broccoli cheese soup with no crunchy "bits". (SHUDDER) This also helps to make the soup a lot thicker and creamier. I like to add a pinch or two of red pepper flakes, or a pinch of dry mustard, or some garlic powder to the soup (depending on my mood), any of these flourishes gives the soup that little bit of extra oomph! I also take some day old bread, cut it into cubes, then toast the bread cubes in a skillet with a little butter and garlic salt. Voila - instant croutons...awesome topping for your soup with a little bit of shredded cheese.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Great! Love it with fresh broccoli. Can also use onion and garlic instead of shallot. Google the substitution :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Excellent flavour for little effort. I used fresh broccoli and I pureed some of the soup, and then left some smaller chunks in the rest. The next day, I reheated the leftovers on a low heat setting but the cheese kind of curdled or separated from the creamy broth. It still tasted good though. Made for Soup Fest 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      This soup is SO delicious and so easy to make ! I made some changes and it still was good. Used some fresh broccoli along with frozen, used onion instead of shallot, used low fat cheddar and some weight watchers american and used fat free evaporated milk instead of the half and half

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      I just made this and its amazing. I did change a few things like I chopped all the broccoli and make it smoother, also I used 2% velveta cheese, and chopped onions rather than shallots cause its just what I hade. It is wonderful and Im taking to work tonight to share with the other nurses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      This was very good! Everyone in my family loved it! I did add a little more cheese than what the recipe called for. This was a good amount for 4 people, although we were fighting over who got the last of it! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      I love this soup and cannot believe that it's lowfat since it tastes so creamy and delicious! I actually realized that I didn't have chicken broth so I ended up using beef broth instead and it still tasted fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      You get raves from me! This was, hands down, the BEST lowfat soup I have ever made. I used sweet onion instead of shallots and chicken stock instead of broth. I used part lowfat cheddar and part lowfat american cheese. I seasoned it with white pepper and salt, and I added 2 chopped lean ham steaks. I served it with reduced fat crescent rolls and asparagus on the side. My husband absolutely loved this as well, and he is usually wary of "lowfat" recipes. The serving size was more than adequate to fill me up as well...I did add an extra point for the ham. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe! I will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      mmmm...good! Creamy, but not overpowering!!! I whipped this up in minutes when I got home from work. I even used whole wheat flour! I'd make it again-especially if I'm in a hurry. I didn't have cheddar either so I just used a little parmesan (not full amount) and it was good. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Yummy...This recipe pleased three children who swear they hate veggies (especially broccoli). Coudldn't find shallots so used onions...still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Quick to make but tastes fantastic! It has great texture and tastes much like a soup you would get in a restaurant. I'll make sure I always have lots of frozen broccoli in the freezer so I can whip this up often! Thanx for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      We love broccoli cheese soup and this certainly was a hit ! The added plus is that it is sooo easy to make without losing flavor. When you want a quick, satisfying soup.....this is it. Thank you so much, Marna for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Soup - 20 Minute fast and low fat

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.9
     
    Calories from Fat 127
    51%
    Total Fat 14.1 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 40.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 647.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 14.8 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes