13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy! Quick and easy. Like many others, I used what I had on hand versus going to the store. I used a sweet onion instead of shallots and a mix of low fat sharp cheddar cheeses. We usually only eat fat free cheese but anyone who has tried to melt fat free cheese knows it just wont work. Fat free cheese "melts" into a plastic like mess. It's just no good. Anyway, this recipe is really good. Used chicken bouillon to make my broth. Very tasty, fast and low fat!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
labodomyeyes_8588563 July 24, 2011

I have made this recipe a few times but am only getting around to reviewing it now. This is simply wonderful. the only thing I do differently is that I NUKE the broccoli until it is mush. I prefer a very creamy broccoli cheese soup with no crunchy "bits". (SHUDDER) This also helps to make the soup a lot thicker and creamier. I like to add a pinch or two of red pepper flakes, or a pinch of dry mustard, or some garlic powder to the soup (depending on my mood), any of these flourishes gives the soup that little bit of extra oomph! I also take some day old bread, cut it into cubes, then toast the bread cubes in a skillet with a little butter and garlic salt. Voila - instant croutons...awesome topping for your soup with a little bit of shredded cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shannon Cooks August 14, 2009

Great! Love it with fresh broccoli. Can also use onion and garlic instead of shallot. Google the substitution :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate1088 January 03, 2012

Excellent flavour for little effort. I used fresh broccoli and I pureed some of the soup, and then left some smaller chunks in the rest. The next day, I reheated the leftovers on a low heat setting but the cheese kind of curdled or separated from the creamy broth. It still tasted good though. Made for Soup Fest 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 11, 2011

This soup is SO delicious and so easy to make ! I made some changes and it still was good. Used some fresh broccoli along with frozen, used onion instead of shallot, used low fat cheddar and some weight watchers american and used fat free evaporated milk instead of the half and half

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizdiz59 October 17, 2009

I just made this and its amazing. I did change a few things like I chopped all the broccoli and make it smoother, also I used 2% velveta cheese, and chopped onions rather than shallots cause its just what I hade. It is wonderful and Im taking to work tonight to share with the other nurses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Ju Ju September 15, 2009

This was very good! Everyone in my family loved it! I did add a little more cheese than what the recipe called for. This was a good amount for 4 people, although we were fighting over who got the last of it! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpage May 06, 2009

I love this soup and cannot believe that it's lowfat since it tastes so creamy and delicious! I actually realized that I didn't have chicken broth so I ended up using beef broth instead and it still tasted fantastic. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicolef27 April 10, 2008

You get raves from me! This was, hands down, the BEST lowfat soup I have ever made. I used sweet onion instead of shallots and chicken stock instead of broth. I used part lowfat cheddar and part lowfat american cheese. I seasoned it with white pepper and salt, and I added 2 chopped lean ham steaks. I served it with reduced fat crescent rolls and asparagus on the side. My husband absolutely loved this as well, and he is usually wary of "lowfat" recipes. The serving size was more than adequate to fill me up as well...I did add an extra point for the ham. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe! I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick October 29, 2007

mmmm...good! Creamy, but not overpowering!!! I whipped this up in minutes when I got home from work. I even used whole wheat flour! I'd make it again-especially if I'm in a hurry. I didn't have cheddar either so I just used a little parmesan (not full amount) and it was good. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieNicole May 02, 2007
Broccoli Cheese Soup - 20 Minute fast and low fat