16 Reviews

I think this soup is too cheesy as others have mentioned - it is missing the broccoli flavour that makes this soup good. That said, I think it is a good recipe after some modification. Next time, I plan to use half of a chopped onion (instead of the dried flakes) - I will sautee the onion in the pot before adding the broth. I will also cut back on the cheese...maybe only using half a pound or 3/4 of a pound. And, in place of the cream of chicken soup, I will use cream of broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thunder Bay Laura September 30, 2010

A very tasty soup. Normaly I don't like velveeta but in this soup I do. I did not want to purchase a large block so bought a 12 ounce package of slices. I thought it was plenty of cheese but that may be a personal preference.The low rating is because I prefer fresh broccoli not a fault of the recipe I am sure. - Sorry - Stir constantly while heating all mixture together or flour will stick to pan bottom of pan. I probably should have used my silicone spatula for that, as the heat would not hurt it and a spoon did not cover a large enough area at a time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady April 23, 2010

We gobbled this right up! I prefer chicken stock to boullion so that's what I used. I also thought that the addition of the worcestershire seemed a bit out of synch with the rest of the recipe so I elminated it. I used onion and garlic powder in place of the onion flakes. The carrot adds beautiful color and extra nutrition (and when you are cooking with processed cheese and canned soup you need all the help you can get!) . Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus January 22, 2010

Oh how do I love this soup! It is so delicious!!! The only little change I made was to use homemade chicken stock in place of the bouillon. (Watching the salt) Thank you Faith for posting this fantastic recipe!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom December 12, 2009

Most DELICIOSO! My picky-eating son, who is not a fan of any soup, not only greatly enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but he also requested that I make it again, so on this cold Rio Grande Valley morning, I am cooking up another pot. Thank you very much for sharing this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jggal84 November 30, 2009

This is almost the same recipe my grandmother gave me when I got married! She had gotten it from local news program. The only slight differences are in the amounts in just a few ingredients (2 packages of broccoli, 4 TBS flour, 3 cups of milk). Thank you so much for posting it - it really is a great soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misa July 27, 2009

Tasty but very rich, this soup was considered "too cheesy" and "salty" by my family. I like the recipe itself and may try it again using low-sodium cream of chicken soup and homemade chicken stock instead of bouillon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb's Recipes October 27, 2008

This was creamy, cheesey, and perfect!! A great soup for sure! I made as directed and was very happy with the result.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa P June 18, 2008

I am sorry that I am the sour puss in the ratings, but my soup didn't taste as I expected and I have had some yummy BC Soup. It was way to thick and also seemed a little salty. Sorry for being the oddball.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angeldoll March 20, 2008

Delicious and very easy to throw together. I used chicken broth in place of the water and bouillon cube but otherwise kept to the recipe. The milk I used was skim since I am cutting back on calories, but this soup was still thick and rich. The ingredients are for the most part basic staples so this could make a good last minute meal with a salad and some good bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alskann March 02, 2008
Broccoli Cheese Soup :)