Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese Soup :) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Soup :)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2010

      I think this soup is too cheesy as others have mentioned - it is missing the broccoli flavour that makes this soup good. That said, I think it is a good recipe after some modification. Next time, I plan to use half of a chopped onion (instead of the dried flakes) - I will sautee the onion in the pot before adding the broth. I will also cut back on the cheese...maybe only using half a pound or 3/4 of a pound. And, in place of the cream of chicken soup, I will use cream of broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      A very tasty soup. Normaly I don't like velveeta but in this soup I do. I did not want to purchase a large block so bought a 12 ounce package of slices. I thought it was plenty of cheese but that may be a personal preference.The low rating is because I prefer fresh broccoli not a fault of the recipe I am sure. - Sorry - Stir constantly while heating all mixture together or flour will stick to pan bottom of pan. I probably should have used my silicone spatula for that, as the heat would not hurt it and a spoon did not cover a large enough area at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      We gobbled this right up! I prefer chicken stock to boullion so that's what I used. I also thought that the addition of the worcestershire seemed a bit out of synch with the rest of the recipe so I elminated it. I used onion and garlic powder in place of the onion flakes. The carrot adds beautiful color and extra nutrition (and when you are cooking with processed cheese and canned soup you need all the help you can get!) . Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Oh how do I love this soup! It is so delicious!!! The only little change I made was to use homemade chicken stock in place of the bouillon. (Watching the salt) Thank you Faith for posting this fantastic recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Most DELICIOSO! My picky-eating son, who is not a fan of any soup, not only greatly enjoyed the flavor of this soup, but he also requested that I make it again, so on this cold Rio Grande Valley morning, I am cooking up another pot. Thank you very much for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2009

      This is almost the same recipe my grandmother gave me when I got married! She had gotten it from local news program. The only slight differences are in the amounts in just a few ingredients (2 packages of broccoli, 4 TBS flour, 3 cups of milk). Thank you so much for posting it - it really is a great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Tasty but very rich, this soup was considered "too cheesy" and "salty" by my family. I like the recipe itself and may try it again using low-sodium cream of chicken soup and homemade chicken stock instead of bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This was creamy, cheesey, and perfect!! A great soup for sure! I made as directed and was very happy with the result.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I am sorry that I am the sour puss in the ratings, but my soup didn't taste as I expected and I have had some yummy BC Soup. It was way to thick and also seemed a little salty. Sorry for being the oddball.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Delicious and very easy to throw together. I used chicken broth in place of the water and bouillon cube but otherwise kept to the recipe. The milk I used was skim since I am cutting back on calories, but this soup was still thick and rich. The ingredients are for the most part basic staples so this could make a good last minute meal with a salad and some good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Very tasty! I made this in a bread bowl, and we used the toasted bread to dip in the soup. Also, I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen and chicken broth instead of water and bouillon. I left out the worcestershire sauce since I didn't have any. I think next time I will add more broccoli and maybe a tad less Velveeta. The bread bowl was a great addition, though. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Wonderful recipe just enough of everything nothing overpowers the flavor. DH gave rave reviews and mother-in-law asked for recipe did not change a thing.Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      This lovely soup was served at my annual "Souper Supper". Creamy and cheesy with chopped broccoli...yum. The grated carrots not only added to the flavor but also made it colorful, making a nice presentation. A winner, faith58. Thanks for your contribution and helping make the party a success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

      Wow!!! 5 Thumbs up! We have been having very cold weather of late and hubby and I felt like some comfort food. This soup did the trick!! Absolutely delicious - A keeper for sure!! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2006

      I and my family loved this soup. I give it a "high 5" "A+". Thanks for sharing. M.Hughey from Central Florida.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      I wish I could give this broccoli soup more than 5 stars, it is so good! It takes a little bit of time to make but it is not a hard recipe to follow. The time to make the white sauce and let the cheese melt is well worth the wait! I used 1 cup of chicken broth, finely chopped onion, and omitted the salt for us. Faith58 another great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Soup :)

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 391.0
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    60%
    Total Fat 26.2 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 85.1 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1666.9 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites