12 Reviews

I thought it was lovely...not sure why the lower raters expected a "creamy" soup...this is NOT cream of broccoli soup, it does NOT deserve low ratings! This recipe is easy and tasty, a pleasure to both make & eat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas October 11, 2009

I really love this soup. I thought I would be disappointed since it was not as creamy as I wanted, but the nutmeg flavor was awesome, and the addition of slightly moire velveeta helped make it thincker. I will certainly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neurochemistry July 21, 2005

Was hoping for a creamier soup. Taste was slightly above average, but given the huge calorie & fat content - I probably won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC July 10, 2005

The taste was awesome. The seasons were perfect. There was nothing to change in the recipe. I give it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sowhat2 April 13, 2005

I made this for a potluck and it turned out really well. Everyone enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaime in Winnipeg April 08, 2005

UPDATED!!!! Made this soup again with the correct broth this time and it was absolutely wonderful. As I'm typing this updated review, I'm enjoying a bowl that had been frozen for approximately 2 months. Tastes like I just made it this evening from scratch. After defrosting the soup, I made fresh toast, cubed it and sauteed it in 2 tablespoons of melted butter mixed with 1 tsp of garlic powder. Tante, you definately have a great recipe here and it should be added to the OAMC category as it froze very well. Thanks again and have to leave my original review in here :)......................Before I tell you about my major goof with this recipe, it did come out GREAT! Well, in my usual rush to stores on the way home from work before my DS gets out of school, I did a major goof. Reading my well planned grocery list that I prepared prior to leaving work and literally running down the grocery store aisles, I found myself in the soup aisle. Quickly looking for veggie broth, I found an inexpensive can just the size I needed and it read veggie broth. So, then I got home sauteed my onions then the broccoli, opened the can of veggie broth and dumped it into the saucepan. What to my surprise did I find was "Veggie Alphabet Soup"! I don't think I need to describe what words came out of my mouth :) So, I then began to remove all the "ABC's" and the chunky veggies and replace the broth using chicken broth. Followed the rest of the recipe except omitted salt due to chicken broth being salty and must say this soup was great using the chicken broth and can't wait to try it with veggie broth! DS, DH, & I devoured the soup and I was also able to bring a little for lunch today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 February 22, 2005

Delicious-Delicious-Delicious. I didn't have veg. stock so I used chicken broth. Before adding the cheese I pureed half of the mixture in the blender because the soup would have been too chunky. I also had to use a few spoonfuls of cornstarch to thicken it up. Next time I would only use 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was outstanding. It also worked well with a 20 oz. bag of frozen broccoli.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPHT January 29, 2005

Since I have heart problems and my husband is a diabetic, I used low sodium chicken broth plus a couple of cans of Campbell's Potato Soup and the Light Velvetta Cheese. All this saves on salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Memaw58 January 23, 2005
Broccoli Cheese Melt Soup