Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese Melt Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Melt Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2009

      I thought it was lovely...not sure why the lower raters expected a "creamy" soup...this is NOT cream of broccoli soup, it does NOT deserve low ratings! This recipe is easy and tasty, a pleasure to both make & eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      I really love this soup. I thought I would be disappointed since it was not as creamy as I wanted, but the nutmeg flavor was awesome, and the addition of slightly moire velveeta helped make it thincker. I will certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      Was hoping for a creamier soup. Taste was slightly above average, but given the huge calorie & fat content - I probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

    • on April 13, 2005

      The taste was awesome. The seasons were perfect. There was nothing to change in the recipe. I give it 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      I made this for a potluck and it turned out really well. Everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      UPDATED!!!! Made this soup again with the correct broth this time and it was absolutely wonderful. As I'm typing this updated review, I'm enjoying a bowl that had been frozen for approximately 2 months. Tastes like I just made it this evening from scratch. After defrosting the soup, I made fresh toast, cubed it and sauteed it in 2 tablespoons of melted butter mixed with 1 tsp of garlic powder. Tante, you definately have a great recipe here and it should be added to the OAMC category as it froze very well. Thanks again and have to leave my original review in here :)......................Before I tell you about my major goof with this recipe, it did come out GREAT! Well, in my usual rush to stores on the way home from work before my DS gets out of school, I did a major goof. Reading my well planned grocery list that I prepared prior to leaving work and literally running down the grocery store aisles, I found myself in the soup aisle. Quickly looking for veggie broth, I found an inexpensive can just the size I needed and it read veggie broth. So, then I got home sauteed my onions then the broccoli, opened the can of veggie broth and dumped it into the saucepan. What to my surprise did I find was "Veggie Alphabet Soup"! I don't think I need to describe what words came out of my mouth :) So, I then began to remove all the "ABC's" and the chunky veggies and replace the broth using chicken broth. Followed the rest of the recipe except omitted salt due to chicken broth being salty and must say this soup was great using the chicken broth and can't wait to try it with veggie broth! DS, DH, & I devoured the soup and I was also able to bring a little for lunch today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2005

    • on January 29, 2005

      Delicious-Delicious-Delicious. I didn't have veg. stock so I used chicken broth. Before adding the cheese I pureed half of the mixture in the blender because the soup would have been too chunky. I also had to use a few spoonfuls of cornstarch to thicken it up. Next time I would only use 1/2 cup of sour cream. It was outstanding. It also worked well with a 20 oz. bag of frozen broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Since I have heart problems and my husband is a diabetic, I used low sodium chicken broth plus a couple of cans of Campbell's Potato Soup and the Light Velvetta Cheese. All this saves on salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      This soup is fabulous. I followed the recipe as directed but chose to puree 1/2 the recipe and mix with the remaining amount. The garnishes would be a nice touch, but we didn't add them because the flavor was tremendous without. My 3 year old son ate this soup and broccoli usually doesn't make it past his lips! Be sure to include the nutmeg and cayenne as directed for superb flavor, using less cayenne, perhaps, when serving to the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      My husband usuaully detests broccoli, so it is really saying something that he actually ate this WONDERFUL soup. The flavor is just wonderful - rich, smooth, and not heavy. I used Velveeta (about half of a 1 pound block) and it came out delicious. I used all of the optional garnishes, which made this look lovely too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Melt Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.7
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    66%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.4 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 66.0 mg
    22%
    Sodium 893.1 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 8.3 g
    33%
    Protein 15.7 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites