14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had been wanting to make this for some time and hadn't gotten the chance to. Well, I finally did 2 nights ago and it was OUTSTANDING! I would give more stars if I could. I had to use thawed broccoli as my hands cannot deal with frozen. I also made this roughly 6 hours ahead of time and refridgerated until baking time. NOT a problem; it was delightful, savory and comforting without all of the usual Ritz cracker carbs not to mention the fat calories from those nasty cracker and Cheeze-Whiz mixtures (which I used to like until I found this one!). I did use 1 tsp. of butter and 1/4C of plain bread crumbs scattered over the top and used a small onion, grated in the recipe. I,,,ahem,,,didn't get 8 servings though! It fed 2 people 2 meals. I served this as the main meal and it was gobbled up quickly! It 'sets' beautifully though remains creamy! A wonder what simple ingredients can do when combined. This is definitely a keeper for my comfort food cookbook and will make this at least weekly just for me!! That says a great deal for someone who hates to cook when living alone. One word,,,,,,YUMMY!! Thank you for sharing such a perfect dish.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hajar Elizabeth August 27, 2006

Yummy, cheesy broccoli! I used fresh broccoli and blanched it, then proceeded with the recipe. The flavor was excellent, as was the texture. It wasn't too creamy or runny but wasn't dry at all. Thanx for a wonderful broccoli casserole!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* February 21, 2010

Wow! Made this dish to bring to our friend's turkey dinner last night and not only was it all eaten up up but I was told how good it was by everyone. Kids and adults loved it and I loved how easy it was to make and all the compliments I received :) Followed the recipe exactly as written. It travelled well and even after having to sit around for about an hour in a warm oven before dinner actually started, it was perfect. This will be my go-to broccoli casserole. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taylor's Mommy October 02, 2011

Everyone liked this casserole. I added a little more cheese to top at the end of baking. I also used half sour cream, half miracle whip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RCILv2Ck November 28, 2012

There are so many variations and this one was excellent. Took it to a family gathering and everyone wanted the recipe. The only change I made was adding 1 tube of crumbled Ritz crackers mixed with butter on top half way thru cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1celticlady April 09, 2010

Turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mild21 January 26, 2013

This recipe is great!!! We did use Cheesy soup instead of mushroom, we also used 1/2 cup mayonnaise and 1/2 cup sour cream. We also topped it off with Cheez it's... but all in all, absolutely wonderful dish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaunaLou2 November 24, 2009

This has become one of the best sides that I make. Just use ONE bowl....mix everything for sauce then add the broccoli. TOO easy!! I add some crushed ritz to the top and dot with butter/sprinkle with more cheese. I use fresh steamed broccoli crowns. If you get frozen broccoli, it is better cooked for a few minutes to soften it up, I"m not a big fan of "crunchy" broccoli in a casserole. A great recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Doxiemom March 03, 2009

I made this for my picky granddaughter and she had two helpings. The rest of the family enjoyed it, too. I used cream of celery soup, left out the onions and used 1/2 Miracle Whip and 1/2 sour cream. It was quick and easy to put together and was done at the time listed. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando January 07, 2008

I have been making this forever! We love it! The only difference is I use 2 eggs, but not sure that is such a big difference. I also zap the broccoli in the microwave for a few minutes, then add everything else. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie August 10, 2007
Broccoli-Cheese Casserole