70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Absolutely LOVED making this recipe! Instead of potatoes I added a large zucchini from my garden and it got RAVE reviews! So good I added it to my main cookbook here and will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe! *S*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truetigress July 23, 2012

The secret to this recipe is in using quality, fresh, organic ingredients (butter, not marg; shallots/scallions instead of onions; sharp, artisanal cheddar; red potatoes w/ skin on), making a good roux (skim milk can be made satisfyingly creamy with a proper roux), and leaving the veggies nice and chunky. In addition to using skim milk, we made it lower fat by also cutting the amount of butter & cheese in 1/2). Served with warm, crusty, whole-wheat rolls...mmmmmmmmm...deeeeelish! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miheehee July 15, 2012

This soup was delicious and one of the best soups I've ever made! My husband and 5 year old daughter loved it. It was very quick and easy to make. I had broccoli and red potatoes from my CSA box and thought a soup would be a good way to use up some of the veggies. I used shallots instead of the onion and I didn't peel my potatoes. Before adding the cheese, I used an immersion blender to make it a bit smoother, but still chunky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurab007 May 08, 2012

Very good soup. I followed the recipe in addition to adding garlic to the onions. Super good soup. Definitely making again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arlenya April 25, 2012

Great Recipe! I added carrots and garlic powder. It was soooo good! Also, added the fresh broccoli about five minutes into simmering then recovered and continued simmering for about another ten minutes. I'll be using this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
popochef February 15, 2012

This soup was pretty good. I decided to use frozen brocolli cuts as a short-cut, but I ended up having to cut some of the chunks into smaller chunks anyway, so this didn't save much time. I added the brocolli after about 15 minutes and then the soup took much longer than anticipated to cook the brocolli. I will use fresh brocolli next time and chop it thin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjoyce1 February 12, 2012

Made according to the recipe and it was amazing! Reheated really well too. Will be adding this to my binder of favorites! thanks :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazze's Mom February 12, 2012

This soup was delicious. I varied the recipe by using shallots in place of onions, some dried onions, garlic powder and hot paprika. I also used sharp cheddar and a 3 oz. package of cream cheese to make it creamier. I used red skin potatoes with skin left on. It turned out great! Next time, I will use extra sharp cheddar and maybe add some mushrooms. I also tossed in the broccoli while the potatoes cooked and I will use more broccoli next time. Thanks for a great recipe. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhioBobbi January 27, 2012

Really good! I will try adding a little garlic next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbmidura January 23, 2012

This was good soup, I added a can of milk and roasted garlic, impressed my family :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carol mac January 16, 2012
Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup