Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2010

      This might have been a 5* recipe if there was a better balance between the broccoli and potato. As it stands, it's a wonderful soup but could use less potato and more broccoli. I made some minor changes - used 1T olive oil to replace 1T of the butter, and I used 1/2c less cheese. After seeing a lot of the reviewers use 2% or whole milk, I was a bit concerned about using fat-free milk - but went ahead and did so. It worked out fine because there is plenty starch from the potato to thicken the soup. I also threw in a few cloves of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Excellant. easy to make. It is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Definitely the best broccoli cheese & potato soup recipe I've ever tried! I made a few changes to my own liking. I omitted the celery and instead added 1/2 cup chopped carrot. Adds more color too & I like the flavor better. To make it thicker I used 1 cup of half and half and just 1 cup of skim milk. I added 1 tsp garlic powder & another tsp of pepper for extra flavor. I pureed the soup some before serving so it wasn't so chunky and served in a sourdough bowl. It was delicious! Thanks Jennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      This soup was so yummy and very easy to make! My husband and picky 3yo ate it and thought it was delish. I made a few alterations as well. I added 2 cloves minced garlic with the onion, I used fat free half and half instead of skim milk, and added a few tbsp of cream cheese at the end. Next time I will try adding bacon crumbles to each bowl for serving. I also tried this soup before adding the broccoli and it was soooo yummy. Thank you for an excellent quick go-to meal! Great for a cold day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      My husband said this was the best soup he ever had! He kept repeating "that it was awesome." I made a few minor adjustments. Added 1 tsp each of garlic powder and onion powder and another 1/4 tsp of pepper. I didn't steam the broccoli. I put it in during the last 5 minutes of cooking the potatoes Then I transferred the mixture into my crockpot on high for 1 hour. Then strained out about 1/2 C of potatoes and broccoli, mashed them up and returned it to the crock pot stirred and cooked on low for 1 more hour. Stirred in the cheese and devoured this wonderful soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Very good soup. I made some changes - used carrots as I was out of celery. Used half olive oil/half butter. Used garlic salt instead of regular. Used more broccoli than called for and added it with the potatoes. Also used vegetable broth instead of chicken-- thought it was a little thick at the end (maybe because I cooked the broccoli in the soup?) so added about 2 -3 cups more broth. I also added instead of the milk, a 50/50 mixture of 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 can skim (i was low on skim). Also, to save on calories, I only added a bit of cheese to each bowl. Oh, and i forgot I added a few bay leaves while it simmered. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Very good soup. Next time I'll add a little more cheese, but only because we wanted a really cheesy soup. I also added some cooked and crumbled bacon to each serving (per other recipes) and that added a nice crunch, but wasn't necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      This is a great mild yet hearty and comforting soup. I blended the soup somewhat and grated cheese just for my bowl and added a dash of Tabasco (because I like Tabasco with everything). Delicious with a crisp pane di casa roll.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2009

      This soup was soooo delicious... Mmm... Very simple recipe!! I will def. be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      fast and easy and delicious! i used 900 mL of vegetable broth (just over 3 1/2 c), 2% milk and a little extra cheddar, and it came out beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      this is a great recipe! i agree it should perhaps have a little more broccoli than the recipe calls for but its a great soup... besides, i impressed my gf with it :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      I made this with a few modifications - left out the celery because I didn't have it, more onion, added a carrot when I cooked the onion. I also used 1 cup of vegetable stock because I was out of chicken. Probably added more broccoli than the recipe called for and a few dashes of thyme. I used my hand blender to make it chunky and served with some crusty italian bread - yum! Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      This was great! I didn't have any onions, so I threw in a clove of garlic. I used 2% milk and 2% cheese and it was a huge hit even with my 5 and 6 year olds. I also left the skin on my potatoes and cooked the broccoli in the soup. Turned out perfectly! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

    • on February 26, 2008

      I was looking for something different to do with potatoes for tonite and found this soup. I liked the idea of the brocolli to get some veggies in it. I cooked the brocolli right in the soup as another reviewer did and that worked out really well. I figured it's healthier that way and it's easier. I also used med sized red potatoes and I left the skin on - again because it's healthier. I mashed the potatoes a bit with a hand held masher when the soup was done. This soup was a big hit. My fiance loved it and I really enjoyed it too. It was very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      We finally had our first crisp, cool fall day yesterday and soup was definitely on my agenda. After searching through recipes, I decided that this one sounded most like what I was hungry for. It hit the spot perfectly! I used 2% milk, part sharp cheddar and part pepper jack (didn't have quite enough cheddar on hand), and baby broccoli florets instead of chopped broccoli. I also just added the broccoli partway through cooking the potatoes, rather than steaming it separately and adding it at the end. I did end up thickening it a bit more, as I wanted it pretty thick. We really enjoyed it--thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      We loved it. Very easy and quick soup. I didn't have enough shredded cheddar, so I used half Velveeta. I used frozen broccoli because that was what I had. I also used half-and-half rather than skim milk, personal preference, and I like a richer soup. Good stuff. I sent some to my neighbor, who is a vegetarian. She loved it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      Good and very filling. I added more broccoli just because I love it, so then I needed a little more milk. I only had a very mild cheddar cheese in the house- I think a very sharp cheddar would be good in this soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This soup was excellent, though it could use a little more liquid. Maybe change the chicken broth from 3 to 4 or 5 cups. Very appetizing - good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This is going to be fantastic during the winter months. Easy to prepare. Thanks Delish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.3
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    44%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 534.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites