Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2009

      My family LOVES this soup, and it's so versatile! We didn't have broccoli on hand, so I used cauliflower instead. I did make a couple changes, just to make cooking a little easier: I used 2 cans of chicken broth, cooked the chopped cauliflower (doubled the amount) in the soup at the same time I added the diced potatoes, added garlic powder, and only used 1 1/3 cups cheese. For those who have never made a creamy cheese soup before, it really helps to turn the heat down to low for a few minutes BEFORE adding in the cheese. This will prevent curdling, which looks really un-appetizing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I made this last night and will make it again. I liked the flavor and texture a lot. Next time, I will chop the broccoli much finer and put it in immediately with the potatoes so that it is cooked to mush. It was a little crunchy for a soup the way I did it. I didn't have celery, so I grated a carrot instead and added a shallot and some garlic. I will keep these changes, as they seemed to work well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      Love, love, love! I've made this a few times now and have completely vetoed adding any salt. I also just throw the raw broccoli directly into the soup and let it cook instead of pre-steaming. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Turned out really good with a little tweaking- added 1 c diced carrots instead of celery, used a 12oz steam bag of broccoli, chopped small, 12 oz sharp/extra sharp cheddar mix, whole milk, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1 tsp salt, and 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic. Family loved it soooo much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      We loved this. I left the celery out and used 2% milk. I also served it with cooked, crumbled bacon on top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      My hubby loved it I added a bag of frozen broccoli w/ cauliflower & bacon bits since that's what I had on hand. Great for fall weather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      Perfect! Soooo comforting and delicious. Exactly what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Excellent! It was a family winner, and very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Very good and comforting soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      This was delicious. I only used about 1 cup of cheese (it's what I had on hand in the fridge) and used 1 entire 16 oz bag of defrosted broccoli florets. Additionally, I added an 8 oz diced ham steak. With a side of cornbread it was a hit!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2013

      Wonderful recipe! Great flavor! I used 1 cup of garlic and chives cheddar and 1 cup of sharp cheddar. It was super delicious! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

    • on March 07, 2013

      I have made this recipe and 3 friends have asked for it. I'ts one of the best one's I have made and it's very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Yummy! Followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked the broccoli with the potatoes. I also added garlic salt. Makes a great lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I loved this! And so did my husband!!! We are excited to have left overs of it too since I made double the amount. Although I did change the recipe just a bit.. by starting out with cooking some chicken seasoned with salt, cracked pepper & garlic powder & letting it brown at the beginning w/the 'onions' & 'celery'. After that I followed the recipe above.. yet throwing in the broccoli with everything else.. & also added some 'mushrooms' and it turned out great!! It didn't really need the cheese to be honest though. There was plenty of flavor as it was! But if you're a cheese lover, it doesn't hurt! Anyway, this is my new favorite soup! If anyone's ever heard of Panara Bread, it tastes very similar to how they serve it! YUMM!!! Also, on the side it was good to have some buttered bread rolls to dip into it too! What an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful recipe-I didn't change a thing and it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      so rich and creamy while low in calories. we did find it a bit bland initially but a generous dash of Tabasco really made it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      Very good soup. Wil make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This soup is so great! It's creamy and just the right thickness. I didn't have to change or modify anything! Thank you for a perfect, delicious, and heartwarming recipe, :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Absolutely LOVED making this recipe! Instead of potatoes I added a large zucchini from my garden and it got RAVE reviews! So good I added it to my main cookbook here and will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe! *S*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese and Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.3
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    44%
    Total Fat 13.1 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 38.5 mg
    12%
    Sodium 534.6 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 14.1 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes