49 Reviews

I didn't read through all 42 other reviews, but this is a keeper! My grandma actually taught this to me--it was my first real recipe, as a 4th grader I think. Anyway, I've never cooked the soup and cheese. And, I've actually found over the years that it's better to just thaw and drain the broccoli first--not to cook it either. It retains more taste and texture. So we just throw the thawed broccoli cuts in a bowl with the soup and cheese, mix, and dump it in the casserole. Cuts the prep time to nothin', and the results are just as good! I also only use about 1/4 c. melted butter on top--and sometimes sub Ritz for fresh breadcrumbs. Thanks for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Battle in Seattle April 27, 2010

Loved it! I didn't have mushroom soup so combined milk, butter, flour, salt, paprika and onion powder. I used the cheese I had at hand, which was shredded mozarella and a combination of shredded Mexican cheeses. Also used two heads of fresh broccoli, steamed. Thank you so much for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elglance November 18, 2015

I read some of the reviews and thought I would serve this as a side dish for our Thanksgiving dinner, I wish I would I would have tried it out first before serving it to guests, what a big disappointment, thank god I had another side vegetable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lybailey October 12, 2015

A definite keeper. Most broccoli casseroles use Velveeta...I like that this one uses real cheese. Simple ingredients, yet very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ci-Ci August 05, 2011

Not only did my husband and I think this was delicious (and super easy), but my toddler son could eat an entire bowl full of this! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1HuntersWife July 09, 2011

I made this for Thanksgiving as a change from the green bean casserole. We loved it. After reading other reviews, I cut the margarine to 1/4 c and the breadcrumbs down to about 2/3 c. I will definitely made this again. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly-Mom2Girls November 25, 2010

Made this tonight, just finished eating it...or rather, not eating it. The flavor probably would have been great, if it weren't for the overpowering flavor of the breadcrumbs which were not good. They are breadcrumbs I use in many other recipes so it shouldn't have been a problem. Also, the recipe said Mushroom soup, but I couldn't find any, so I used a can of Cream of Mushroom soup, and about 1/4 cup of water. I think it turned out well, just the breadcrumbs ruined it and wasted all the broccoli that I had left.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KinMa June 02, 2010

Amazing taste! Great, different use of broccoli....I do agree with the others that there was too much butter. I only used 1/2 cup and it still was way too much. I also used reduced fat chedder cheese which was great and that too I used only 1 cup. Next time I will use less butter or put french fried onion rings....however very very good and I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dasurace April 20, 2010

Simple, tasty side dish. I tried this recipe the other night and we loved it. Thank you for a family favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 23, 2010

Was good but way too much butter in the topping. Next time I will half the bread crumbs and only use a third of the butter. The broccoli and cheese sauce were 5 stars though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RileyRoo January 22, 2010
Broccoli Casserole