Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Casserole

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2010

      I didn't read through all 42 other reviews, but this is a keeper! My grandma actually taught this to me--it was my first real recipe, as a 4th grader I think. Anyway, I've never cooked the soup and cheese. And, I've actually found over the years that it's better to just thaw and drain the broccoli first--not to cook it either. It retains more taste and texture. So we just throw the thawed broccoli cuts in a bowl with the soup and cheese, mix, and dump it in the casserole. Cuts the prep time to nothin', and the results are just as good! I also only use about 1/4 c. melted butter on top--and sometimes sub Ritz for fresh breadcrumbs. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      A definite keeper. Most broccoli casseroles use Velveeta...I like that this one uses real cheese. Simple ingredients, yet very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Not only did my husband and I think this was delicious (and super easy), but my toddler son could eat an entire bowl full of this! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I made this for Thanksgiving as a change from the green bean casserole. We loved it. After reading other reviews, I cut the margarine to 1/4 c and the breadcrumbs down to about 2/3 c. I will definitely made this again. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Made this tonight, just finished eating it...or rather, not eating it. The flavor probably would have been great, if it weren't for the overpowering flavor of the breadcrumbs which were not good. They are breadcrumbs I use in many other recipes so it shouldn't have been a problem. Also, the recipe said Mushroom soup, but I couldn't find any, so I used a can of Cream of Mushroom soup, and about 1/4 cup of water. I think it turned out well, just the breadcrumbs ruined it and wasted all the broccoli that I had left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Amazing taste! Great, different use of broccoli....I do agree with the others that there was too much butter. I only used 1/2 cup and it still was way too much. I also used reduced fat chedder cheese which was great and that too I used only 1 cup. Next time I will use less butter or put french fried onion rings....however very very good and I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      Simple, tasty side dish. I tried this recipe the other night and we loved it. Thank you for a family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Was good but way too much butter in the topping. Next time I will half the bread crumbs and only use a third of the butter. The broccoli and cheese sauce were 5 stars though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      SO Delicious!!! For the topping i used Cheddar Fried Onions instead of bread crumbs. Thanks for sharing!! YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Yummy! I used a 24 oz bag of broccoli florets and increased the cheese to 2 cups. Really cheesy! I took it to our church ladies' meeting and it was gone in no time. Thank you Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This was great! After reading the other reviews I did some other modifications partially because I am a lazy cook. I cooked the broccoli (with some carrots & cauliflower since I had some fresh and a frozen mix) in the microwave steamer. I also cooked chicken and diced. Instead of heating up the soup, I just added it all to the casserole dish and mixed. Put a layer of cheese on top and then added a layer of french onions & ground oatmeal on top (you can use oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs for a healthier alternative) I didn't want to use too much butter since I am grease-phobic so I just added sporadic pieces of butter on top. So I made it more of a layered dish. It still turned out great! I made it for dinner for 4 people with a salad and rolls. There were no left overs and no one had a huge appetite - which is odd for my husband. I would make this same amount for just us (me, hubby, and our 2 year old) any more people, next time I will double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Very tasty. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Perfect! Next time I'm going to add some cooked chicken when baking for a "one-pot' meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I was looking for a quick recipe for broccoli, that included ingrediants I had in the house. This was perfect!! My husband doesn't like mushrooms and I warned him that he may not like it. He loved it, as did everyone else. Even my MIL said she was going to 'try' to make it. Obviously she doesn't realize how quick and easy it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      Very tasty! I added some chopped onion and a tbls of whole grain mustard to give it a little crunch and kick. This is one I'll make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Very tasty and very easy to make! There a so many broccoli casserole recipes on Zaar, but this one looked to be the easiest to me. I microwaved my broccoli crisp tender and drained it well. Then I just mixed all the ingredients together (with lots of fresh ground black pepper) in the same dish and sprinkled with bread crumbs sprayed with cooking spray. Baked covered at 350F for 30 minutes and browned the crumbs under the broiler for 3 mins. Could not have been easier to make and the result was so good my partner went back for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This is so delicious!!! I like my veggies more crips so I only cooked my broccoli for 3 minutes and it came out great. I also cut back on the butter and used Panko bread crumbs. This is now a family favorite for sure and I will be making this over and over again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I was looking for a broccoli casserole my family would eat and I think I found it! This is definately a keeper. I think I'll try adding some french fried onions, although it was wonderful as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

    • on November 02, 2008

      This is an excellent recipe. I used Ritz crackers instead of the bread crumbs for the topping. Family loved it. Thanks for a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (218 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 657.8
     
    Calories from Fat 457
    69%
    Total Fat 50.8 g
    78%
    Saturated Fat 16.7 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1714.5 mg
    71%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 20.3 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes