Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Casserole

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      This was delicious. The only thing I changed was adding one package of cauliflower instead of two packages of broccoli.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Very good broccoli casserole! Loved the mix of sour cream and cheese, and the onion topping was delicious! I halved the recipe with no problem. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Definately a keeper! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This was so good! Diner, I had to alter this recipe slightly by what I had in the fridge. I used a mixture of broccoli and cauliflower, and in place of the sour cream (which I thought I had a full container of, but didn't) I substituted Helluva French onion dip, which is sour-cream based. I reduced the amount of french-fried onions that I stirred in, but used the remainder of the can on top for more crunchiness. Very flavourful - will definitely make again. Made for Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook Tag-Feb'10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Very good. A great dish to serve to guest. Made using fat free sour cream and fat free cheese. Would not change a thing. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      Loved it. Great recipe! Never thought to put french-fried onions in a broccoli casserole, but it was excellent. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      This is so good!! Made in AZ while visiting my mom because DH hates broccoli...already getting requests to have for Christmas dinner instead of green bean casserole!! Was very creamy and the fried onions gave it a nice crunch! Will make again; I guess for Christmas!! Made for Fall 2009 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I believe this could be a 5 star recipe for us, but it lacked salt (I didn't think to add it) and it wasn't quite hot enough. This was a nice change for broccoli though and the leftovers should be good too. Thanks for posting! Made for I recommend tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Wow! We give this 10 stars! My DH hates broccoli, and I'm not usually a fan of French-fried onions, but both of us absolutely loved this casserole. I used one of those microwave steam-in-the-bag packages of broccoli and then just threw it all together. Very simple and totally delicious. Thanks diner for a real break-thru at our house. Congrats on your winning the Football playoff pool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      Boy this was good! I love french-fried onion rings in casseroles and they were terrific in this! I made it exactly as specified and would not change a thing. There was just a bit left over and I'm looking forward to enjoying it for lunch tomorrow. Just loved this - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Well you were very right, people who do not like broccoli will like this dish! I served some leftovers to my veggie hating friend, and he liked it! The only way I normally can get this dude to eat veggies is by pureeing them into random sauces! I used light yogurt instead of sour cream, homemade baked crispy onion pellets, and homemade cream of whatever soup to make this a bit healthier. I really enjoyed this dish and plan on making it with other cooked leftover veggies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      WE LIKED IT! Next time I might cut back on the sour cream a bit as it was very rich. Thank you for posting Diner. Made for Holiday Tag, please see my rating system as 3 stars really does mean we liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      I served this broccoli casserole with theresa/thunderbird's Pepper Jack Meatloaf and sour cream mashed potatoes (box mix) for a wonderful dinner tonight. This casserole is very similar to the one my mom made and we all loved but she lost the recipe. I added the broccoli to my dutch oven and covered with water. Cooked just until tender crips than added the rest of the ingredients. I did use golden mushroom soup and loved the bit of richness it added. This will be a family favorite and also on the table for the holidays! Thank you diner524 for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      This was great and super easy. I didn't have French-fried onions, so used panko crumbs mixed with some olive oil, onion salt, garlic salt, and sea salt to taste. I think this is my new favorite broccoli casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I really do wish my mother had made vegetables like this when I was a kid instead of those horrible, rank-smelling kohlrabies or rutabagas fried to a blithering mushy mess! Ugh. My childhood was one horrible vegetable after another, and if it wasn't an icky veggie she was making them into a really stinky soup with nothing even half-way delicious to motivate one to WANT to eat. BUT NOT THIS CASSEROLE!!! Oh, my goodness. My children are SO lucky to have stuff like this! This is immediately going into my REGULAR recipe file. As this was baking, I stood nearby, enveloped in the most exquisite aroma---"supper cooking"---and if bellows would work on an electric range, I'd've been pumpin' 'em to get the flames hotter and supper done quicker! :-) Okay...enough bellowing and gushing and all that!!! I used a mixture of broccoli AND cauliflower, really hit the spot. Also, was OUT of Cheddar (Mother Hubbard has taken up residence temporarily), so used some "Cheddar Pills" leftover from the cheese basket received at Christmas from DH's boss. It's a kind of cheese spread, and we're not "spread" people, so this was a good way to use it all up---it's "aged" long enough IMHO!!! So with Cheese Pills and four slices of Kraft Singles, I got mighty creative. The onions really set this dish apart from others that I've tried in a similar genre. And I think this one has become our new FAVORITE--thanks to those onions! What's leftover I'm adding some baked chicken breast pieces too...and will have for lunch tomorrow. Mmm!!! Thanks for an unbelieveably delicious recipe. And I already LOVE Broccoli!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      I have had this dish every year at Thanksgiving as far as I can remember. My mom actually did half broccoli and half cauliflower. It is always a winner!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.7
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    66%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 568.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes