23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is the best casserole ...make your mouth water thinking about it..it is really fantastic...

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ann hugo November 21, 2001

Very easy to make, and a great recipe for large groups, it's easy to double or triple.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacyrose December 17, 2001

I made this a while ago, i never got around to rating it.. This was really good, but next time i'll add a half less mayo, and maybe half cottage cheese to it. But i enjoyed this..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisM May 15, 2008

Made this last night and it is in the running for Christmas dinner. I loved it! --Just wanted to add that I did make this for our Christmas dinner and it was a perfect addition to our lamb and twice baked potatoes. I used 4 lbs. of fresh broccoli (I doubled it). I ended up using an extra egg and 1/2 a cup of mayo because it seemed dry with all of that broccoli. It came out perfect. When I made it the first time I used a 16oz bag of frozen broccoli and I loved the taste, but would have liked the broccoli to be less mushy. So, by using the fresh broccoli the second time I was able to control more how much it was cooked initially. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue December 28, 2005

This is very similar to a side dish my aunt makes for Thanksgiving, which I LOVE! I halved the recipe and cut the onion in a small dice so they would cook better and added salt and pepper to taste. I also used panko breadcrumbs, which was delicious! I cooked for 30 minutes at 350 then turned up the heat to 425 for about 5 minutes, just to get the brown, crispyness that I love. Great recipe, which took me by surprise. Didn't think it would turn out so good. Thanks Marty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimboleyanne February 02, 2011

My family loves this casserole. We've made it twice, now. I substituted 1/2 the mayo with cottage cheese. We are not big mayo fans and this has worked out, wonderfully, for us. I bake it in two loaf pans. "We must eat this more often." is what they are saying, tonight. Thank you for sharing! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolinaDreamz August 08, 2009

A very good side dish when made as the recipe states, the only thing I will try next time is to cook the onions first as they where still slightly crunchy. I also used crushed ritz crackers in place of breadcrumbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget Elaine September 28, 2008

I made this today as part of a meal for a friend who is just home from the hospital. Since it makes a large casserole I divided it between two 8x8 dishes, took one to my friend and had one for DH and me. It was really good and so quick to put together. I cooked the broccoli and onion together in the microwave, let it cool just a bit, then mixed in the remaining ingredients. Wonderful!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grits (Girl Raised In The South) January 24, 2008

This was a hit at Christmas dinner and satisfied the eclectic tastebuds in our large group. Definitely a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TimLoriSpeer December 30, 2007

Made this last night for Christmas dinner. It was great! I used ritz cracker crumbs instead of breadcrumbs. I assembled the casserole the day before and put the cracker topping on right before baking. Thanks - I will use this recipe again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlimSadie December 27, 2007
Broccoli Casserole