Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli and Wild Rice Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli and Wild Rice Casserole

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      I made this over the weekend and my family just loved it. Very creamy and cheesy.The seasonings were right on and the waterchestnuts add a little crunch. I will be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2003

      This was very good, and I will made this again! I liked the water chestnuts in it, good taste to it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      Loved this casserole! I've made it twice in one month. The water chestnuts give it just the right amount of crunch. I plan on making this for my son when he comes home for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2002

      I have tasted many a broccoli-rice casserole and this one in my opinion is the best. I think the seasonings in the wild rice mix really zest this up. I also think the water chestnuts are a huge plus. We loved the crunchy texture. Rich and cheesy which is what you would expect. Very yummy!! Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      This was so awesome. One of the best broccoli-rice dishes I have ever tried. Very cheesy and the flavor or the wild rice mix was outstanding. This will show up on my holiday table definitely. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This was a wonderful recipe. I tried it with cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken soup; I also substituted a small can of sliced mushrooms for the waterchestnuts. The taste is terrific. One note - this needs to be eaten the first time you serve it, it doesn't save well. There are only two in our home, so I'll save this recipe for when we have company or for pot luck dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      This was fast and great! I don't like water chesnuts, so I subbed a can of mushrooms and it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      This was a great side dish. About the only thing I'd change is to make it with purely wild rice next time, rather than a wild rice blend, but overall, I enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Wonderful! My DH invited a business associate to dinner at the last minute - I had the ingredients so whipped this up to go with my chicken cordon bleu. The gentleman could not get enough of it! He said he would have eaten more if there'd been a bigger spoon - he was embarrassed by having four helpings!!! Thanks, Nurse Di, for a dish I will be serving for any and all occassions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      Love it, love, it. No changes. Very good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      very good. i made it with cream of broccoli instead of chicken because fiance and i are vegetarians. we both liked it alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      I've tried many, many different recipes for broccoli casserole but never any that we really loved. This one IS the best. We had a crowd today so I doubled it, used one can of cream of chicken and one mushroom, and left out the water chestnuts (that unexpected CRUNCH just drives me batty! :D). It was perfect! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2004

      Have been looking for a different side dish to serve for Easter Sunday dinner. Tried this one out on my family and it was received with great enthusiasm. Easy to make and we all thought the flavors went well together. Also liked the crunch of the water chestnuts. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      I don't know what I did wrong, but this just did not turn out the way I was expecting. Neither my husband or myself cared for it. Perhaps I bought the wrong kind of rice, but the flavor was off, and we ended up throwing much of it away. I usually LOVE all of your recipes NurseDi, but I don't think that I will be making this one again. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      Nursedi, This is an OMG great tasting casserole,very creamy tasting.we loved it.I did leave out the water chestnuts as we are not real crazy about them.But the casserole was delicious,Thanks, Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      I didn't really care for the taste of the Cheeze Whiz. I got the original flavor. I remember seeing different flavors, perhaps I will try a different one next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      This was an excellent recipe. The only thing I did differently was use low-fat cheez whiz ,and I sprinkled a little garlic on top. I wouold recommend this dish for anyone who dosen't have a lot of time ,but wants a nice home cookded meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Ohhh, this is the BEST broccoli-rice casserole. Like others have said, the wild rice seasonings and water chestnuts make this casserole different from others I have tried and are what make this one so special. Totally delicious and the only way I will make broccoli-rice from here on. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli and Wild Rice Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.5
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    49%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 48.6 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1488.6 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.8 g
    31%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    long grain and wild rice blend

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites