8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. My 2 year old loved it! I did make a few changed though. I use match stick cut carrots instead of broccoli, cashews and added some cilantro and lime juice at the end. It really toned down the vinegar and balanced out the flavor nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khana February 02, 2010

We loved the rich flavour of this stirfry - it was creamy without being heavy! According to suggestions, we added a bit of extra peanut butter to the sauce, as well as 2 tsp. fish sauce. Since we used natural peanut butter, it was extra rich, so I think we'll stick with 1/2 cup next time. We also substituted rice vinegar for the cider for a more authentic touch. We omitted the salt and used reduced-sodium soy sauce. We also reduced the honey to 2 tbsp. Next time, we will add a tsp. of chili flakes to the oil for the tofu to bring out the spice. We added a red pepper (after the broccoli) and sauted the onions along with the second round of garlic and ginger. We also omitted the scallions. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K January 04, 2008

I signed up just to tell you I loved this dish. I only had tofu and broccoli in the fridge so I typed that into the search engine and this recipe came up. I had to change it as I didn't have everything on hand. I used honey instead of black strap, half the onion, and no cayenne pepper. I also substituted lemon for the cider vinegar. It was terrific and my husband loved it as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roger July 15, 2008

Very tasty! I left out onions (I don't like onions) and the oil. I don't cook much, but this was easy and delicious. Thanks!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitkat 2 April 17, 2008

This is a good basic sauce that can be adjusted easily to suit your taste. I too added fish sauce and reduced the honey. I also chose to use rice vinegar (which I ended up adding more of to get some tanginess). I was also generous with the red chillies to balance out the salty, sweet, spicy. Finally I used the scallions in the actual stir fry (didn’t feel like eating white onion today), added red, yellow and orange peppers and served over an "instant chinese noodle" that stuck to the sauce nicely. This is good tasty recipe that I will use again. One note about the recipe format; it is a little confusing to read as the ingredients were not listed in a logical sequence for me. I found myself having to reread the instructions and ingredient list over and over which can be a little frustrating when you are cooking a fast meal like a stir fry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Truffles March 06, 2008

i'm sorry for not giving a good review, I was excited to try this recipe for i love peanut butter. But they didn't turned out the way i expected. In trying this recipe, i found out veggies/tofu doesn't go well with peanut butter/ apple cider vinegar. It has a sweet (cider vinegar/honey) peanut buttery taste, and i can't eat more than a few bite because the peanuty/sweet taste is too over powering

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fawn512 February 25, 2006

This was a good dish that really satisfied my craving for peanut sauce. I used 2 medium-soft tofu blocks instead of 1 firm, and replaced the pound of broccoli with a red pepper, a 1/2 cup each of sliced carrot and celery, and about 2 cups each of cauliflower and broccoli. I also doubled the ginger and added 2 cloves of garlic. Since the correct time to add the onions isn’t specified, I added them with the second set of ginger and garlic. I followed the suggestions of another reviewer regarding extra peanut butter, and added two teaspoons of fish sauce to the sauce mixture. It was tasty and richly filling served over a bed of flat rice noodles. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wisent January 12, 2006

This was very yummy. The sauce is a winner and would be good with just noodles or other combinations of veggies, too. I added a little more peanut butter ( 1-2 tablespoons) and an extra tablespoon of hot pepper flakes, ( makes it quite spicy) to the sauce. I left out the onions because I couldn't figure out where they went in the recipe. I had it over linguine, which was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisyG October 11, 2005
Broccoli and Tofu With Spicy Peanut Sauce