15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so delicious, and we just love soba noodles! Instead of just broccoli, I added broccoli, carrots (julienned), sugar snap peas (halved), celery (thinly sliced on bias), white onion (thinly sliced), skinny green beans (halved), and red bell pepper (thinly sliced). I also steamed the veggies until crisp tender before frying, so everything would be the same consistency). Yummy! As some have commented, I wished I had doubled the sauce recipe as we too like it a bit saucier, and will do so the next time around. I will probably also add toasted sesame seeds, and maybe chopped green onions on top, but this recipe worked perfectly untouched! The proportions of the ingredients for the sauce were perfect in our opinion. Thanks for a delicious recipe that I will definitely make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom 007 March 28, 2008

Four words: I. Licked. My. Bowl.
I could eat this on a daily basis.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeguiledChild October 13, 2010

This is absolutely delish!! I have made this a bunch of times now and find it gets better each time. I added shrimp to it one evening to take to a friends home. Of course they loved it also. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neeserwoman May 23, 2010

My whole family enjoyed this. I doubled the sauce and add other veggies like chef mom 007 suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargoMart April 05, 2010

We really enjoyed this! I like a lot of sauce, so I followed the advice of other reviewers and made a double recipe. We definitely had plenty of sauce. :) Thanks for sharing this...it's very healthy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie November 11, 2009

Unlike other reviewers, I had plenty of sauce (personal preference I s'pose!). I subbed broccoli for cauliflower, and added a generous portion of peas. Lovely taste, cooks up quick, and a friendly introduction to soba noodles. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen May 18, 2009

This was quick and very tasty. Would have been five stars if there had been enough sauce! I cut the amount of noodles and veggies in half but made all the sauce, and used only about a third of it to marinate some tofu cubes, yet still didn't have as much as I would have liked in the end. It just barely stretched to cover the noodles. I added tofu and red pepper to this. After pan-frying the marinated tofu and setting it aside, I cooked the garlic and veg according to the recipe. The tofu went back in when the sauce went onto the veg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MN_SpiceHunter January 17, 2009

This was very good. I added carrots, celery and red pepper. It's going in the keeper file. I also used udon noodles, since that's what I had. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty December 05, 2008

This was very easy to make. It took me much less than 35 minutes. Excellent easy simple side dish. Makes tons of left overs! thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liliya_99 October 18, 2008

This was very easy and very good. My husband and I liked it very much. I doubled the sauce because we usually like quite a bit of sauce. It was great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkwise January 10, 2008
Broccoli and Soba Noodles