9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really delicious - more delicious than it looked or than I expected. Everything really worked together. I used one portabello cap for the mushrooms, and 1% milk. I sliced in some pre-cooked italian-style chicken sausage, but it really didn't add anything. I think I might try making it with tuna another time (just to round it out - not because it needs it). I also might try making the white sauce on the stovetop, rather than having to pop the bowl in and out of the microwave. Thanks for posting this! There were no leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mymble May 11, 2005

I took a few liberties with this recipe, but I'm still giving it five stars because the sauce in particular worked better for me than other pasta and cheese recipes I've tried. First, you should know that I did not use mushrooms but I did add in some chilli peppers and I used penne pasta instead of spiral. I also left the cheese off the top. But I made the sauce exactly as directed and it was wonderful! The thyme is a great addition I wouldn't have thought of and I particularly liked the parmesan cheese in the sauce, not just on top as in other dishes. Also, there was plenty of sauce to cover the pasta. Sometimes dishes like this can be quite dry, but that wasn't the case here. Thanks for a great recipe that's easy to adjust to what you like and what's on hand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sackville August 29, 2003

This recipe was easy to put together. I used soymilk in place of regular/half and half and used mini-lasagna pasta for spirals, but followed the recipe otherwise. I thought it was good, but maybe a little bland, my boyfriend loved the subtleness of it. When made again, I'll probably add black pepper or maybe even a little cayenne. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar junkie December 19, 2008

I was out of broccoli and mushrooms so I substitued green peppers and a vidalia onion. I cooked the peppers and onion halfway before mixing in with pasta and sauce. I also mixed in baby spinach leaves and cherry tomatoes (for color). I must admit, it tasted way better than it looked. I love the flexibility of the recipe. It's a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arbed878 December 08, 2008

I had a bunch of broccoli left over from a past dinner as well as cooked pasta and this recipe was a great way to use them up! Other than using skim milk and moz. cheese instead of chedder I stuck to the recipe with great results. I cooked this for about 18 minutes then I broiled it at the end to make the top nice and crispy. Very good recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme December 30, 2007

I had to fix something to take to Easter dinner with very little notice, and I had a head of broccoli, so this is what I fixed. Everyone loved this dish! I didn't have Parmesan so used a little extra Cheddar cheese. I used macaroni, and part milk, part half and half. Thank you for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 08, 2007

Simple to cook, easy to eat. Awesome flavour with a little extra salt, pepper and mixed herbs (Ariosto) added. Pecorino is a great alternative to Parmesan for it as well. Thanks for a great meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieChef 79 July 19, 2006

This made for a quick, easy & delicious weeknight vegetarian dinner! Like another reviewer, I hate taking things in & out of the microwave ..... so I made the sauce on the stovetop. Since I was serving this dish with your Delicious Cheesy Parmesan Garlic Bread (#105726), I skipped the extra cheese on top of the casserole. Thanx once again Carol!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady October 11, 2005

KC i seem to have found my way to another recipe of yours and doesn't disappoint as usual. we just loved the sauce and i thought the addition of thyme and nutmeg was an inspired touch (i love both and added more than the specified amounts). i didn't have spiral pasta on hand so used penne, and i tossed in some soy crumbles and it turned out into a wonderful composition. this recipe is so adaptable around the core sauce and i will be making it again with whatever veggies cry out to be used in my fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood March 02, 2005
Broccoli and Pasta Bake