35 Reviews

What an amazing dish!!! I loved it, the flavors were incredible and the taste unbelievable. Dh loved it, wanted to know how soon he could have it again. A real winner CG!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ April 14, 2003

Absolutely amazing dish! i didnt brown the chicken ahead of time, i dont have time to do that, i followed all directions accepted for that. So i baked in the oven at 400 for 45 mins or so. I served with a side of rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittendoll January 25, 2009

The chicken was great! I sauteed minced garlic in the butter instead of adding garlic powder, I used spinach instead of broccoli (but I'm sure I'll love it with broccoli too) and instead of cheddar I used mexican blend cause that's what I had. And only to my chicken I sprinkled crushed red pepper cuause I love the heat. THANKS!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dookie007 March 03, 2011

My husband really enjoyed this meal but I found it a bit bland. Next time I will use old cheddar for a sharper cheese taste. I will also try some shake n bake or a breadcrumb mixture for the chicken for extra flavour and crunch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharonstevens85 January 19, 2009

This is a recipe I will fix over and over. The flavor is great. The broccoli and cheese compliment the chicken and served with rice.UMMM Good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana K January 16, 2009

Wish I could give this MORE than 5 stars!!!! My Nebraska-born red meat loving husband gave it a 10!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bdostal January 14, 2009

The flavors in this recipe are AMAZING. I also love that the portion sizes are very appropriate, rather than giving a ridiculously huge whole stuffed breast to each person. I made it with fresh garlic (crushed) rather than powder, and eliminated the cream cheese (didn't have any). Also, I happened to have some metal poultry lacers and found this easier than toothpicks because they are longer and sharper. Also, I used a meat thermometer to determine done-ness since the recipe does not instruct cooking times. It took about 20 minutes of browning on each side at med-high heat to reach 160 degrees. I did not finish it off in the oven (not necessary in my opinion). CAUTION: if you are changing the servings, the instructions become confusing. Actually, I think the instructions could be clarified in general. For example, it is confusing that the author says to butterfly the breasts, but then instructs to slice a pocket instead. What she means is that you should first cut the breast in half short-wise, then cut a pocket in the side of each resulting piece. Finally, I do think that this dish could be simplified for every day simply by doing the following: butterfly the breasts, brown them, and make twice as much cheese sauce. The flavor would be basically the same, but fewer steps. But for company, the recipe as is makes a beautiful, tasty, and impressive dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All-Natural-Nut December 24, 2008

very good! I didn't bother browning it and just had it straight out of the oven with the cheese sauce on top. Thanks a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum December 05, 2008

My husband and I tried this dish. We enjoyed the chicken breast stuffed with broccoli and cheese delicious, but the cheese sauce was a little heavy for our taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovechocolate December 04, 2008

This is simply excellent. It's a favorite of my DH and I. We don't stuff the chicken with the broccoli, but we make extra. We cook the chicken and broccoli with cheese mix in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. When it's done, add some rice on the side (delish with the cheese sauce) and serve. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IowaGirl November 14, 2008
Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast