9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Cg, this was great I served it tonight along side Parmesan Chicken Parmesan Chicken. I loved the addition of the pine nuts and bacon. I put the cauliflower in the boiling water first for 3 minutes then the broccoli into the same pan for an additional 4 minutes. The veggies came out just great and held their shape nicely. Your veggies next to the chicken and a leaf of lettuce topped with some cottage cheese… Well, as I said in the other review, “proved to be an over all winning color combination that was very appealing to the eye”. It looked like it took me all day, but I had everything on the table in 40 minutes. My only regret is that we ate the food so fast I did not get to take a picture to post! Thanks, I’ll be making your recipe on a regular basis!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 17, 2003

Canarygirl, you've done it again! I used golden raisins, and that quick microwave bacon. Since it was just two of us dining, I halved the recipe. I regret doing that because I could have made a meal of it, but on the other hand, it took me half the time to make it, too. Thank you for another keeper!--Ginny

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP March 05, 2003

I loved this recipe as it was a nice change from plain old broccoli and cauliflower. The rest of my family thought there was to much garlic (if that is possible). I also used almonds instead of pine nuts and will make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, October 27, 2003

Do not underestimate this recipe! It is truly a wonderful dish! I made it for 30 people at a dinner party and there were 30 people asking me for the recipe. I wouldn't change a thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ducissa August 25, 2003

A very good side dish. Used almonds instead of pine nuts as I had them on hand. Used Jennie-O turkey bacon, one half gram of fat per rasher. Thanks CharlotteJ, you did it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren June 28, 2003

This was delightful! My husband is not crazy about broccoli, and now I can serve it and he will enjoy it. I used only broccoli, and it was such a light easy to make sidedish. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando June 18, 2003

Made this as one of our side dishes foe a baked ham. It was wonderful! I didn't think that 1 1/2 cups of broccoli & cauliflower would be enough, so I increased the recipe (I wanted leftovers!!) to 1 1/2 pounds of each veggie and increased all other ingredients accordingly. DH & I loved it....DS is not a cauliflower fan, but agreed that it was quite good. (The only change I will make next time is to mince the garlic so that it will distribute better during tossing.) Yes, there were leftovers (big grin), some of which I had tonight as a cold salad with some bleu cheese dressing mixed in...wow, was that good too! Thanks for posting such a versatile recipe, equally good hot or cold!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 April 08, 2007

Wow, cooked this for a total of 27 people Thursday Evening at an organization that I belong to. I cook one meal a month for them. This was awesome. Made it precisely according to recipe and it was simply devine. I used Crushed Walnuts because our grocery store did not carry pine nuts, but this was perfect just the way it was written. Thanks Tasty and very refreshing. Chef Angela Marie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Marie September 02, 2006

My family liked this, my husband the most, but I was afraid that perhaps there might have been a typo for the quantities of broccoli and cauliflower. 1-1/2 cups is not very much so I just added (a lot) more of each. Perhaps it was meant to say 1-1/2 lbs. of each?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana U. October 05, 2005
Broccoli and Cauliflower with Pine Nuts and Raisins