10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bev, this is such a colorful and delicious side dish! I could make a meal of it. I used butter, since I don't care for margarine. I used red pepper (my favorite), and since I had cauliflower and broccoli to use up, I had a medley. Simply wonderful and loaded with good nutrients! Thanks for this recipe. : )

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP March 06, 2003

This was very easy to prepare, had lots of colors and the flavors mixed together very well. I didn't use margerine, though. I used good ol' fashioned butter and it worked fine. I like the fact that there was no salt in the recipe. This will be something that I will make time and time again. Thanks for the recipe, Bev!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Malriah July 19, 2003

I really enjoyed this broccoli and peppers recipe... the husband and the kids liked it, but not as well as I did. It was easy to make and presents beautifully on the table. I used real butter (unsalted).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady November 16, 2013

So quick and easy! I served this alongside fish and it really hit the spot. Like other reviewers, I also used butter. The colorfulness of this dish (I used a yellow bell pepper) really made an average dinner night fun and festive. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kindcook September 12, 2013

We loved this! I've been looking for ways to liven up veggies without adding a lot of extra calories and this was perfect. The lemon was very refreshing. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway January 17, 2010

Made for Farmer's Market Tag. We love broccoli here but were divided on the taste. DH loved it, I thought it was okay (usually like lemon, but didn't care for it with the broccoli) and DD liked the broccoli, but wouldn't touch the peppers. I used a yellow pepper and it was a very pretty dish..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft August 23, 2009

I'm going to have to say, this is the way I usually cook broccoli. I picked this recipe for something different. I always use butter, but lemon juice sounded different. The pepper gives it a nice color, but no change in taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Sauerbeck June 20, 2008

Bev - Wow - loved this!! This is a great side dish - I simplified a bit by using my microwave too! Steamed my veggies in the microwave and melted my butter in the microwave too! Added a lot of lemon and voila - a delicious and tasty side dish! Thanks Bev! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 11, 2008

We really enjoyed this. The colors are fantastic. I think next time I'll increase the butter and lemon juice. Just didn't seem like enough for all the broccoli. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 14, 2006

Beautiful colors. Great way to eat vegetables.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice July 19, 2004
Broccoli and Bell Peppers