15 Reviews

I liked this a lot. It is tasty and DH said who would have thought of putting apples with broccoli. Very light and tasty and I thought it did okay in the fridge for at least a couple days; after that the apples become a little too vinegar saturated though I ate it all. It begs to be messed with not for the sake of improvement but because it is adaptable. I had only purchased a couple of broccoli crowns so I added in some chopped celery and that was very good, too. Well worth repeating.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ September 25, 2009

Yummm! I made the dressing with 1/2 the amount of sugar, and olive instead of canola oil. Sadly -- it didn't keep too well in the fridge, and the flavor went kind of "off" after a day or two. I should have gobbled it all up right away!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Leah D August 05, 2009

Very good, used Granny Smiths. The dressing was really tangy and good. I think next time I will put a few toasted walnuts on right before serving. Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaquwaa June 30, 2010

Great salad....just what I was looking for. I wanted a light, vegetarian broccoli salad and I had some apples that needed to be eaten. I threw in some raisins and jicama for a little added sweetness and crunch. It went great with grilled beef and veggie burgers. I will add this to my cookbook. Thanks Kizzikate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca June 27, 2010

This is a different and delicious broccoli salad! I don't care for onion so left it out, otherwise made as directed. Loved the addition of the apple, and the fresh ground pepper is a must - it's a perfect balance to the tangy/sweet dressing. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof May 15, 2010

I really enjoyed this salad, but it was a little tart for DH. I had never had a Braeburn apple, but was just excellent in this. Added just the right amount of sweetness. I only got to marinade it for an hour and a half, thus maybe the tartness. But I loved the combination. Thanks Kizzikate for sharing. I'll make this again. Made for Zaar Stars :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 15, 2009

A bit befuddled when my experiences are so different from those of others, but this did not fully work for me. The dressing appeared really promising and well matched to my tastes so I was hopeful and chilled my salad overnight. I enjoyed the dressed apples but eventually discarded the broccoli as it tasted quite bitter when combined with the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 06, 2009

I love this salad Kizzi. I followed your directions exactly as written...Even though i made this for just myself I decided to make the recipe as stated for 8. I"m glad I did as I don't know how 8 could eat from this as it's that good. Maybe 4..but definitely not 8. This will make a great side for my salad meals I eat most nights. Thanks!!! Made for ZaarStars.~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB April 05, 2009

Fun recipe! I enjoyed the combination of flavors. I made 1/2 the recipe and wished I would have made the full amount of dressing. My salad was a bit dry and would have been better had there been more "juice" to soak in. We love raw broccoli salads and I love how fresh and healthy this one is. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW February 12, 2009

I've made this 3 times in 4 months. It's perfect for using up apples that need to be used before they go bad. Love the dressing also. I'm off to the kitchen to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty July 31, 2008
Broccoli and Apple Salad