Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Broccoli and Apple Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli and Apple Salad

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 25, 2009

      I liked this a lot. It is tasty and DH said who would have thought of putting apples with broccoli. Very light and tasty and I thought it did okay in the fridge for at least a couple days; after that the apples become a little too vinegar saturated though I ate it all. It begs to be messed with not for the sake of improvement but because it is adaptable. I had only purchased a couple of broccoli crowns so I added in some chopped celery and that was very good, too. Well worth repeating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Yummm! I made the dressing with 1/2 the amount of sugar, and olive instead of canola oil. Sadly -- it didn't keep too well in the fridge, and the flavor went kind of "off" after a day or two. I should have gobbled it all up right away!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Very good, used Granny Smiths. The dressing was really tangy and good. I think next time I will put a few toasted walnuts on right before serving. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2010

      Great salad....just what I was looking for. I wanted a light, vegetarian broccoli salad and I had some apples that needed to be eaten. I threw in some raisins and jicama for a little added sweetness and crunch. It went great with grilled beef and veggie burgers. I will add this to my cookbook. Thanks Kizzikate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      This is a different and delicious broccoli salad! I don't care for onion so left it out, otherwise made as directed. Loved the addition of the apple, and the fresh ground pepper is a must - it's a perfect balance to the tangy/sweet dressing. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I really enjoyed this salad, but it was a little tart for DH. I had never had a Braeburn apple, but was just excellent in this. Added just the right amount of sweetness. I only got to marinade it for an hour and a half, thus maybe the tartness. But I loved the combination. Thanks Kizzikate for sharing. I'll make this again. Made for Zaar Stars :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      A bit befuddled when my experiences are so different from those of others, but this did not fully work for me. The dressing appeared really promising and well matched to my tastes so I was hopeful and chilled my salad overnight. I enjoyed the dressed apples but eventually discarded the broccoli as it tasted quite bitter when combined with the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I love this salad Kizzi. I followed your directions exactly as written...Even though i made this for just myself I decided to make the recipe as stated for 8. I"m glad I did as I don't know how 8 could eat from this as it's that good. Maybe 4..but definitely not 8. This will make a great side for my salad meals I eat most nights. Thanks!!! Made for ZaarStars.~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Fun recipe! I enjoyed the combination of flavors. I made 1/2 the recipe and wished I would have made the full amount of dressing. My salad was a bit dry and would have been better had there been more "juice" to soak in. We love raw broccoli salads and I love how fresh and healthy this one is. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I've made this 3 times in 4 months. It's perfect for using up apples that need to be used before they go bad. Love the dressing also. I'm off to the kitchen to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Loved this dressing!! I had cauliflower to use up, so subbed it for the broccoli. Use a Granny Smith apple for the green--already had that, too--to use. Really enjoyed this refreshing, crunchy salad. Made for AU/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This really hit the spot! I've been trying to do lighter meals lately and broccoli salad is one of my favorites, so i didn't know if I'd be disappointed in a "substitute" but it was very good. I couldn't wait the 4 hours to try it but I'm sure it will be just as good later too! :) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      This is a great salad! I made per recipe, using a large Braeburn apple. I think a few toasted chopped walnuts would be a good addition and may try that next time. I served this with Quiche Lorraine for a simple supper. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      I love trying different broccoli salads and this one sounded great without the mayo. I used a coarse ground mustard and 1 tbs. was plenty. This would be dynamite with sunflower seeds, raisin, cheddar cheese, too. I didn't have time to let this set in the fridge but it was delicious as is. Thanks Kizzikate, for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      Loved it and being on WW this fits perfectly! I cut back the oil to 1T, I increased other ingredients for the dressing by 1/2...Delicious! I also experimented and craisens, sunseeds and walnuts are all good additions but then increase your protien and fat. Very good salad and a surprise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli and Apple Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.8
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    28%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 77.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes