12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very fast and easy recipe. I added about 3 cloves garlic, reduced the butter to about 2 tablespoons, sprinkled liberally with salt and mixed with 8 ounces fettucini. I used whole milk, and the results were very creamy and delicious. Although I could see why some people might prefer half-and-half, I wouldn't because I don't like the extra fat. I steamed the broccoli over the pasta while it was cooking. In 5 minutes it was tender but still very green in color. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend August 31, 2005

I loved this recipe. I also added 2 cloves of garlic and should have added a third. I added grilled chicken to this dish and my whole family loved it. Will definitly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jthompsn May 20, 2014

Kids love it! I actually puree my broccolli after steaming and incorporate in the sauce before pouring over the noodles...for the kids sake. Great way to get them to eat up their veggies. I do add garlic as others have suggested and am very liberal with the salt otherwise it is kinda bland. It is a great starter recipe that you could add all kinds of things to...sauteed onions, mushrooms, red pepper flakes, cubed ham, whatever you'd like. Definetely a staple in my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsudderth May 23, 2013

This recipe was great! I had pasta already cooked, and I had a couple of heads of broccoli to use. Since I wasn't home I left the recipe for hubby to make, figuring it wasn't a difficult recipe (and he's pretty good in the kitchen). Instead of steaming the broccoli, he sauteed it, and then added the sauce and the pasta. The kids liked it! For our portions, we added some sauteed sausage. This was a quick, easy recipe with items I usually have on hand, which makes it perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme April 14, 2011

Super fast. Creamy but not overbearing. Kids gobbled it up. I sauteed 1 clove minced garlic with the butter, and added 1T cream. For adults, I threw in some chopped sundried tomatoes, which added a nice zing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KTgirl February 24, 2011

I added some sauteed mushrooms I had on hand, as well as some leftover roasted chicken. Very easy. Truly yummy! (But a little bland before I added those things, which is why only 4 stars, instead of 5.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chakrates October 09, 2009

Amazing!!!! I added 3 cloves of garlic and used 3 tbsp of butter, otherwise all the same. Liked by both adults and kids. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini September 08, 2008

My little kids devoured it. I added nutmeg and garlic and boiled the broccoli with the noodles to save dishes. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes January 16, 2006

not very flavorful...it was a little thick, and i even used non-fat milk...maybe that was the problem? I might try again with half and half as suggested...i halved the recipe, but i think i should have also left the sauce the same amount because i would have liked more to add to the pasta!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewYorkMama December 05, 2005

Kaarin, I have a very, very picky family....and everyone from the 10-month old to DH liked this. When my daughters say "this is good", it is a rare compliment indeed. I followed directions exactly. I liked it without garlic, although other reviewers suggested it could be added. Also, DH liked that it was not 'swimming' in alfredo sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy August 30, 2005
Broccoli Alfredo Pasta