Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / British-Style Cheese and Onion Sandwich for 2 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    British-Style Cheese and Onion Sandwich for 2

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 18, 2010

      A very nice sandwich. We reduced the onion to 1 tablespoon --thought that was too much frankly. Evidently the Brits like raw onions a lot more than us. LOL! Omitted the salt. Thanks for a nice lunch, Cookgirl. Made for Unrulies Under the Influence during ZWT6 tour of Great Britain.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      A few simple ingredients that add to to a sandwich being more than the sum of it's parts. I skipped the bacon simply because it's something that I use with extreme rarity and I did enjoy this very much without it. I used half the mayo ask for. I had to make do with old cheddar from here in Canada. But it worked fine for me. One sannie will sure fill you up too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Tasty, easy to prepare sandwich! I used Cheddar and did include the bacon :) It was very enjoyable. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yep, my favourite sarnie! I love cheese and onion and so this was a no brainer recipe to make! I did make a few changes, I never use mayo in tihis sarnie, so left that out! I used mature farmhouse Cheddar cheese as well as both types of onion and NO bacon! I always eat this iconic sarnie toasted, so that is how I made it! Made for ZWT6 and GB for the Whiners and Cheesers! FT:-) (PS: Yes this is an English sarnie, but no need for the mayo for the purists amongst us - I am not that bothered personally, but I thought I would let you know! And yes, raw onions are a MUST! Karen:-) ) (Photos to be posted)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      While at the store this week, I got a chunk of "Five Counties Cheese" which is layers of Derby, Red Leicester, Cheshire, Double Gloucester, & Cheddar so I thought this would be the perfect way to use it. I used wild chives and red onion (what I had) and no bacon (though I would have done if I'd had some!) Used lightly toasted wheat bread for one and will have the rest (on untoasted bread) for lunch tomorrow. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      I scaled back for 1 sandwich but could easily have made 2 from the mix as it is a very generous serve, would like to try this as melt as I love gooey cheese, I used a sharp cheddar and toasted my wholemeal/wholegrain bread and next time will make it with the bacon and cut back on the cheese. Thank you Cookgirl and also WIGal for the recommendation, made for I Recommend tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Yes this is a recipe that calls for the best ingredients you can get. I was able to get great imported white cheddar, some locally made whole grain sourdough French bread and a wonderfully sweet onion. I made untoasted and without the mayo or optional bacon, as I want to try as pure as possible the first time (see FT's review). The only thing I would do different next time is to toast, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      This was just wonderful! I used chives instead of scallions (had them in the garden), and then toasted the sandwich on my Griddler. The cheese was oozey and yummy; and the combination of flavors in the filling just made the sandwich rich and wonderful. I used homemade whole wheat bread, and 2 slices of bacon for 1 sandwich. Thanks for satisfying my craving for grilled cheese in a new and yummy way! Made for ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked this sandwich! I used a sharp English cheddar, the full 2 tablespoons of Vidalia onion, 1-1/2 tablespoons of the scallions, and 1/2 tablespoon of minced chives. I served this on toasted whole-grain white and wheat swirl bread. I tried it with and without bacon, and actually enjoyed it without the bacon more. I did not find the onions overpowering at all, but blended in perfectly with the other ingredients. I will definitely make this again, as I generally have all these ingredients on hand. Thanks for sharing such a simple delight. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Great sandwich! This was always one of my favourites when I was living in the UK. The key to this is using mild onions, a strong onion will ruin the flavour. I tried it with the bacon because I was interested in the idea and it does indeed go well. I didn't add any salt because the bacon here is pretty salty, though when I have made my own version in the past without bacon I did always put a tiny pinch of salt in. Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      Delicious combination of cheese and onions. We grilled this on panini maker instead of putting it on toast and loved it. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      I really wanted to like this, but it was just........weird. The onion was a little too pungent, and it needed something else. If I used bacon, it probably would've helped. Maybe if this was a grilled cheese with extra stuff it would work, but raw like this didn't really do the job for me :/ It wasn't gross or anything, just kinda weird :P Sorry! D:

      Thanks CG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for British-Style Cheese and Onion Sandwich for 2

    Serving Size: 1 (291 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.9
     
    Calories from Fat 216
    51%
    Total Fat 24.0 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 45.6 mg
    15%
    Sodium 976.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes