13 Reviews

I don't know if I can review this twice, but my friend made this recipe and here's her review. She added 1/2 cup frozen blueberries. "We LOVED the scones. Sooooo GOOD. I could eat these everyday. I must have this recipe. They were perfect, like a biscuit but sweeter. Yum, yum, yum!" I told her she had to sign up on Recipezaar :)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claire #3 September 20, 2002

Wonderful. I've tried about a dozen scone recipes in the past year and this came closest to what I was looking for - a lighter, less crumbly scone. I added slightly more sugar as I like a sweeter scone.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia Greene June 30, 2002

Easy to make and so good. I used butter instead of margerine and I forgot to brush them with milk but may I tell you they came out perfect. I made them about 1" thick. They were crisp outside and lovely & soft inside. Thanks Miller

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 10, 2002

pretty good, I added some blueberries, but they probably could have been sweeter (I'll add more sugar next time). Also they were a bit smaller than I expected. Oh well, still it was a delicious beginning to our 'English Day'.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catercow September 13, 2007

Outstanding scones. They rose so nicely and were incredibly simple and quick. I used half whole wheat flour, and butter instead of margarine. I did have to add 3 tablespoons of milk. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Messy Cook July 22, 2007

I made these scones for Christmas breakfast and they came out wonderful. I served with butter and jam, and nice hot tea. Yum! Thanks so much, I'll be making these again! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Unknown Chef6 December 27, 2006

These are excellent! Just like the ones we ate in England! So easy to make!!!!!! Perfect for breakfast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy_20 June 28, 2006

sweeter than i was prepared for but maybe that's the way they do it in england... not enough rise for me but otherwise has a very nice texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taste The Lightning March 21, 2010

This was really amazing, one of the best scones I've tasted. I substituted 2 tsp baking powder for the cream of tartar and baking soda. Next time, I'll brush them with buttery milk to make them look better. I also added 3 tablespoons milk and baked for 12 minutes. Although I served it up with butter, cream cheese and a myriad of jams and marmalades, everyone loved the cream cheese best.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Syin December 09, 2007

Nice texture and they rose nicely without baking powder. I also baked for about 12 minutes and used a little more sugar and sprinkled some on top. Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TommyGato August 20, 2005
British Scones