Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / British Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    British Scones

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      I don't know if I can review this twice, but my friend made this recipe and here's her review. She added 1/2 cup frozen blueberries. "We LOVED the scones. Sooooo GOOD. I could eat these everyday. I must have this recipe. They were perfect, like a biscuit but sweeter. Yum, yum, yum!" I told her she had to sign up on Recipezaar :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      Wonderful. I've tried about a dozen scone recipes in the past year and this came closest to what I was looking for - a lighter, less crumbly scone. I added slightly more sugar as I like a sweeter scone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      Easy to make and so good. I used butter instead of margerine and I forgot to brush them with milk but may I tell you they came out perfect. I made them about 1" thick. They were crisp outside and lovely & soft inside. Thanks Miller

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      pretty good, I added some blueberries, but they probably could have been sweeter (I'll add more sugar next time). Also they were a bit smaller than I expected. Oh well, still it was a delicious beginning to our 'English Day'.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Outstanding scones. They rose so nicely and were incredibly simple and quick. I used half whole wheat flour, and butter instead of margarine. I did have to add 3 tablespoons of milk. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      I made these scones for Christmas breakfast and they came out wonderful. I served with butter and jam, and nice hot tea. Yum! Thanks so much, I'll be making these again! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      These are excellent! Just like the ones we ate in England! So easy to make!!!!!! Perfect for breakfast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      sweeter than i was prepared for but maybe that's the way they do it in england... not enough rise for me but otherwise has a very nice texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was really amazing, one of the best scones I've tasted. I substituted 2 tsp baking powder for the cream of tartar and baking soda. Next time, I'll brush them with buttery milk to make them look better. I also added 3 tablespoons milk and baked for 12 minutes. Although I served it up with butter, cream cheese and a myriad of jams and marmalades, everyone loved the cream cheese best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      Nice texture and they rose nicely without baking powder. I also baked for about 12 minutes and used a little more sugar and sprinkled some on top. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2003

      very VERY good !!! they were gone in no time !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Excellent with raisins (I used 3T sugar, also). Needed 12 min to bake. Very nice, fluffy texture, not crumbly at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      Very easy to make. I made them for my daughter's Girl scout troop tea party, and added chocolate chips to some. They were a big hit. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for British Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (36 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.6
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    50%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 72.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    sodium-free margarine

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes